Research and Course Guides: BIOL 474: Biology of Global Health: Finding Research

Scholarly Databases

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Full text for thousands of peer-reviewed journals and general interest sources across many subject areas.
BioOne This link opens in a new window
BioOne provides full-text access to both current and archival "bioscience research journals, featuring timely content on a wide-array of today’s most pressing topics, including global warming, stem cell research, ecological and biodiversity conservation."
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
The primary database for nursing and allied health research with access to journal articles, book chapters, evidence-based care sheets, nursing dissertations, state newsletters, and continuing education modules.
How to use CINAHL
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
Indexes references and selected abstracts to the world's literature in geology, including journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, theses, and references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Areas covered include North America since 1669 and other areas since 1933.
GeoScienceWorld This link opens in a new window
Serves as a comprehensive resource for research and communications in the geological and earth sciences. It is built on a core database aggregation of peer-reviewed journals indexed, linked, and is inter-operable with GeoRef.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
The National Library of Medicine's openly searchable and highly comprehensive database of biomedical literature, providing citations from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Elsevier published journals and books online platform
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: over 21,500 scientific journals, 130,000 books and conference proceedings, covering all fields of academic study: science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Scopus also includes 8 different citation metrics, analyzing impact at the author, article, journal, and institution levels.
Scopus user guide

Websites

WHO/UNICEF Joint Monitoring Program
The WHO/UNICEF Joint Monitoring Programme (JMP) is the custodian of global data on Water Supply, Sanitation and Hygiene (WASH).
GEMStat
The Global Freshwater Quality Database GEMStat provides scientifically-sound data and information on the state and trend of global inland water quality.
WHO Water Sanitation & Health
UN Water
UN-Water coordinates the United Nations’ work on water and sanitation.
AQUASTAT
AQUASTAT is the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations' global information system on water resources and agricultural water management. It collects, analyses and provides free access to over 180 variables and indicators by country from 1960.
European Union Water Data Centre
The Water Data Centre provides the European entry point for water-related data as part of the Water Information System for Europe (WISE). You can browse the catalogue of European datasets, interactive maps and indicators.
Global Drought Information System
The Global Drought Information System (GDIS) is an international effort to pull together the best non-prescriptive drought information from local to national providers and provide an "apples to apples" comparison of drought conditions and resources from around the world.