Articles and other publications on computer science, software, hardware, computational theory, artificial intelligence, information science, human-computer interaction, and instructional technology.
Articles and other publications (inlcuding IEEE standards) on electrical engineering, electronics, computer science, and related disciplines.
Largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: over 21,500 scientific journals, 130,000 books and conference proceedings, covering all fields of academic study: science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Scopus also includes 8 citation metrics, analyzing impact at the author, article, journal, and institution levels.
Now includes Scopus AI, a research tool that generates summaries based on Scopus abstracts with references to help decipher complex content, facilitate deeper exploration, and provide academic insights.
This is a comprehensive database that contains abstracts and the full text of thousands of business and news publications as well as country and industry reports, company profiles, SWOTs, and market research reports.
Contains peer-reviewed journals on a wide range of business topics (particularly international management, human resources, information technology, and operations), as well as a collection of education journals covering topics including administration and policy, curriculum development, and more.
Full text for thousands of peer-reviewed journals and general interest sources across many subject areas.
Access ebooks and scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, sciences, and the social sciences. Journal content is often not available until 1+ years after publication.
Largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: over 21,500 scientific journals, 130,000 books and conference proceedings, covering all fields of academic study: science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Scopus also includes 8 citation metrics, analyzing impact at the author, article, journal, and institution levels.
Now includes Scopus AI, a research tool that generates summaries based on Scopus abstracts with references to help decipher complex content, facilitate deeper exploration, and provide academic insights.
This database provides citations for over 2.7 million dissertations and theses from colleges and universities around the world. Close to half are available in full-text PDF format, including all St. Thomas dissertations that have been submitted to the database. If you come across a document that does not have a PDF, you may request it through interlibrary loan.
NEW! Find key takeaways, important concepts, and suggested research topics with the AI-powered ProQuest Research Assistant.
U.S. and international datasets sourced from governmental, commercial, and private organizations (including the China Data Center).
Global statistics, reports, and insights on over 80,000 topics in areas such as business, education, finance, media, politics, society, and technology.
Create custom thematic maps, datasets, and reports using extensive data on demographics, consumers, real estate, housing, employment, crime, health, and more. Data includes MRI-Simmons consumer survey data, Nielsen Scarborough local insights, consumer expenditures and buying power, as well as public data sources such as the U.S. Census, American Community Survey, FBI uniform crime reports, NOAA climate data, and CDC health data. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
Provides abstracts and full text of thousands of journals from the 1800s to the present in psychology and related disciplines, including education, linguistics, neurosciences, pharmacology, and social work.
Includes resources in the fields of sociology and related subject areas.
Through St. Thomas you have subscription access to the following news sites (click on the link to see signup instructions). For a full list of news site subscriptions available to St. Thomas students and faculty, see our digital news access guide.
Most of the common AI platforms (ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, etc.) offer various research functions, most commonly web searching and "deep research." These are great for web research, but since results are often based on a Bing or Google search rather than a corpus of academic documents and/or paywalled content, when doing academic research, the following tools can be very helpful for surfacing content more general AI tools miss:
The resources here constitute test, sample, or practice data, or representative samples of live datasets that may be used in teaching and learning statistical analysis techniques. I recommend using these when the actual topic or question of your research is secondary to learning the techniques--if that is not the case, and the substance of the data matters, see our Datasets & Statistics guide or contact our Data Services Librarian.
The University of St. Thomas provides access to articles from the Harvard Business Review (HBR) through a database called Business Source Premier (linked above). HBR licenses its content to Business Source Premier under the following condition: institutions that license Business Source Premier cannot provide direct links to HBR articles. This means that HBR articles can not be included in course packs without permission. If you want to read an article from the Harvard Business Review, you need to search for the article yourself, and the video below gives out those instructions.
For more information, including how to find specific HBR articles, see the instructional video on our Strategic Management guide.
