Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Partner with the Library
The University of St. Thomas Libraries are here to partner with you in this work. Our collections are built to support the curriculum of the University. As you consider diversifying your course readings, please let us know what we can add to our collection to support you!
Our Subject Liaison Librarians work with academic departments to make the best use of information sources. We are not experts in your course content, but we are experts in finding information sources in your discipline. Contact your Liaison to talk about the resources you're looking for.
Not sure who your liaison is? Find them here:
This list points to some of our academic databases that have content from underrepresented groups or locations. This does not represent the extent of our collections. You may want to browse our full list of databases to find sources in a specific area.
Access World News
Electronic editions of thousands of national and international newspapers.
Bibliographies of Asian Studies
References western-language journal articles, book chapters, and monographs on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present.
Comprehensive collection of newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press. All articles are full-text. Updated quarterly. 1990- .
Jewish Studies Source
Jewish Studies Source contains over 400 full-text titles that covers all facets of Judaism; multidisciplinary view of Jewish civilization from its origins to the present; full-texts articles from leading journals, related articles from major periodicals and newspapers, monographs, and over 1600 biographies.
LGBT Life with Full Text indexes the world’s literature regarding Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender issues, both academic and grassroots. It includes full text for LGBT journals, magazines and regional newsletters as well as some monographs and books. It’s invaluable as both an academic resource and for casual reading and great for learning about the history of the LGBT community.
PILOTS is a bibliographic database produced at the headquarters of the National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder in White River Junction, Vermont, and is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Its goal is to include citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations, while offering both current and retrospective coverage.
Scopus is not specifically devoted to diversity, but it is a very broad database of peer-reviewed literature across the disciplines. It allows searching by author, institution, and through citations.
Women's Magazine Archives
With this database you have access to several popular women’s magazines published in the United States and Canada dating from the from the late 1800s through the 20th century.
Databases that offer multiple points of view
These databases are designed to offer multiple perspectives and points of view around specific topics. They can be good for identifying additional points of view that you may want to consider adding to a course.
Issues & Controversies
Issues & Controversies explore more than 800 timely, in-depth, and objective articles on topics such as politics, government, business, education, and popular culture. It is updated weekly and provides links to a 13-year backfile. Also included are links to news coverage, pros and cons statements, timelines, statistics, etc.
Points of View Reference Center
A full-text database providing essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. The database provides 250 topics, each with an overview, point,counterpoint,and a Critical Thinking Guide. It contains materials from all viewpoints, including main essays, leading political magazines from both sides of the aisle, newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books.
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints
A one-stop source for information on a variety of social issues. Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, as well as full-text magazine and newspaper articles.
Encyclopedias and other Reference Sources
Provides access to hundreds of online reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations from a variety of publishers. Covers both general reference and subject-specific reference titles for a variety of disciplines. Topic Pages give great background overviews on subjects.
Encyclopaedia of Islam Online
Encyclopaedia of Islam Online consists of both the second and the third edition and the Historical Atlas, with new content added quarterly reflecting the great diversity of current scholarship. The new scope includes comprehensive coverage of Islam in the twentieth century and of Muslim minorities all over the world.
Oxford Islamic Studies Online
Oxford Islamic Studies Online offers a multi-layered reference experience designed to provide a first stop for anyone needing information on Islam. Limited to 5 simultaneous users
Euromonitor’s Passport is a global market research database providing statistics, analysis, reports, and surveys on industries, countries, and consumers worldwide. Restricted to current UST students, faculty, and staff only. Even on campus you must log in with your UST username/password.
Political Handbook of the World Online Edition
Political science and journalism researchers will find this resource useful for comprehensive country profiles, chronicles of national history, government, and political parties, as well as information on intergovernmental organizations, development banks, and the agencies and specialized bodies of the United Nations.
World Religions Online
World Religions Online is an easy to use, inclusive guide to the world?s major religions and spiritual traditions. Includes core essays and information on the beliefs, practices, and history of major religions, topic centers, and videos.
Music and Media collections
Our music and Media collections offer a way to bring films and music from around the world to your classroom. This list provides links to some of our music and media collections. Take a look at our pages on finding films and music for a complete list. Contact Cindy Badilla-Melendez, our Head of Music & Media for more help in using the collection or finding music and media sources.
Bloomsbury Popular Music
Provides scholarly coverage of modern popular music worldwide, from the early 20th century to the present day. Explore the historical origins and cultural impact of popular music from almost every country in the world and discover more about influential artists and albums, local music scenes, and subcultures. Learn about musical form, instruments, and the workings of the music industry and research the social, political, and economic context of different musical genres.
Digitalia Film Library (streaming video database) is a multilingual, multi-national collection of films and documentaries from Spain, France, other European countries, North America (Classic) and Latin America (especially Mexico, Cuba, Argentina and Brazil). Among the subjects included in the documentaries are archeology, history, nature, arts, and more. Note: To activate the English subtitles please click under the CC icons.
DRAM (Database of Recorded American Music) streaming audio database is a scholarly resource that focuses on hard-to-find yet culturally and academically important recordings of American classical, modern, and avant-garde music and ensembles. DRAM contains over 4,000 albums from independent labels including New World, Composers Recordings Inc., Albany, Innova, and Cedille. Genres represented include folk music, opera, Native American, jazz, 19th century classical, early rock, musical theater, contemporary, electronic, and more. For optimal playback, use Quicktime (6.5 or higher) with Firefox, Chrome, or Internet Explorer (10 or higher).
FILM PLATFORM serves as a bridge between academia and documentary film, bringing students and professors the most relevant and highly regarded films from the festival circuit. The collection is curated by film experts and leading academics to showcase critically-acclaimed documentaries of social, political and cultural importance, and the catalogue is continually growing.
Music Online: Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online
Over 1,000 articles covering the music of all the world’s peoples, with over 200 audio tracks. Includes overviews of geographic regions, their musical heritages, and descriptions of genres, practices, and performances. Illustrated with photographs, drawings, maps, and musical examples.
Music Online: Smithsonian Global Sound
Smithsonian Global Sound streaming audio database has more than 40,000 individual tracks of music, spoken word, and natural and human-made sounds from Smithsonian/Folkways and other record labels. Included are readings of literary and dramatic works, historic speeches, language instruction, natural sounds, environmental and mechanical sounds, sound effects, children's music, and traditional music from virtually everywhere in the world. Playlists can be created for personal or classroom use.
Swank Digital Campus allows the UST community to stream major motion pictures. You can watch any film from the interface or you can link the movie and add it to Canvas and assign it to students as course reserves.
Swank works best with Chrome or Firefox version 47 and up.
NOTE: This Collection is limited to classroom and personal use. This collection cannot be used for campus screenings (not for public events).
Historic and Primary Source Collections
Oxford African American Studies Center
The African American Studies Center contains brief articles on all aspects of the African-American experience along with images, primary sources, time lines, maps, tables, and reference resources.
Federal Surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984
Between the early 1920s and early 1980s, the Justice Department and its Federal Bureau of Investigation engaged in widespread investigation of those deemed politically suspect. Black Americans of all political persuasions were subject to federal scrutiny, harassment, and prosecution. The FBI enlisted black "confidential special informants" to infiltrate a variety of organizations. Hundreds of documents in this collection were originated by such operatives.
Chicago Defender (Historical)
This database provides you with access to the complete content the African-American newspaper, The Chicago Defender (1910-1975) including all articles, editorials, advertisements and photographs.
Pittsburgh Courier (Historical)
This database provides you with access to the complete content of the African-American newspaper, the Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002) including all articles, editorials, advertisements and photographs.
America in Protest: Records of Anti-Vietnam War Organizations, The Vietnam Veterans Against the War
This Archives Unbound publication consists of FBI reports dealing with every aspect of antiwar work carried out by the Vietnam Veterans Against the War. The collection also includes surveillance on a variety of other antiwar groups and individuals, with an emphasis on student groups and Communist organizations.
It indexes documents published in Latin America in Spanish, Portuguese and English. It covers science and technology, social sciences, and humanities. Offers access to more than 300,000 bibliographic citations from articles, essays, book reviews, monographs, conference proceedings, technical reports and other.
Digitalia Française is a database of e-books and e-journals in French with access to some of the most renowned publishers in France and other francophone countries. The collection includes e-books and e-journals in the areas of art, film study, history, language & linguistics, literature, political affairs, religion, philosophy, and social sciences.
DIGITALIA Hispánica, is a database of e-books and e-journals in Spanish and English with access to some of the most renowned publishers in Spain and Latin America. The collection includes e-books and e-journals in the areas of Art, Film Study, History, Language & Linguistics, Literature, Architecture, Political Affairs, Religion, Philosophy, and Social sciences.
Fuente Acadmica provides full text (including PDF) for a rapidly growing collection of scholarly Spanish language journals. This multi-disciplinary database offers full text content to many academic areas including business & economics, medical sciences, political science, law, computer science, library & information sciences, literature, linguistics, history, philosophy and theology.
Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals
Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals is a multilingual index that provides in-depth coverage of public and private international law, comparative and foreign law, and the law of all jurisdictions other than the United States, the U.K., Canada, and Australia. Content includes journal articles, congressional reports, essay collections, and book reviews from 1985 to the present.