Research and Course Guides: Catholic Education: Finding Books

Introduction

On the library homepage, LibrarySearch is the main search box. LibrarySearch allows you to looks for books, ebooks, articles, and more. After you enter your search terms - select "book" on the left-hand side to limit to just books and ebooks.

If the St. Thomas Libraries don't own an item you are looking for, you can request it from another library using Interlibrary Loan. Find the item you are looking for, scroll to "Request Options", and click on "Get It" to request the item. Books chapters and articles can be delivered via email as a pdf and usually take about 24 hours. Physical books will take a bit longer.

Handbooks on Catholic Education

Handbooks contain short entries that summarize and define complex research and also highlights important scholars. Use handbooks to get background information, define theories, and find foundational scholars.

Handbook of Catholic Social Teaching
Publication Date: 2017
The Handbook of Catholic Social Teaching employs a question-and-answer format, to better accentuate the response of the Church's message to the questions Catholics have about their social role and what the Church intends to teach about it.
The Oxford Handbook of Catholic Theology
Publication Date: 2019
This comprehensive volume includes short, informative chapters on the major themes of Catholic theology as well as chapters on the historical development of modern Catholic theology
The Oxford Handbook of Religion and American Education
ISBN: 9780190907761
Publication Date: 2018
Showcases preeminent scholars in short entries that craft a comprehensive survey and assessment of the study of religion and education in the United State

A Selection of Books on Catholic Education

These books may provide an overview of a topic, teaching activities, statistics, or directory information. They are available at one of the St. Thomas Libraries - use LibrarySearch to discover many more titles available.

Formation of Teachers for Catholic Schools Challenges and Opportunities in a New Era
Publication Date: 2022
Explores in a theoretical and practical sense the challenges and opportunities arising in the initial and ongoing formation processes for teachers in Catholic schools.
Renewing Catholic Schools
Publication Date: 2020
offers an overview of the reasons Catholic Schools are in need of renewal and provides practical suggestions on how to begin the process of reinvigoration.
Researching Catholic Education
Publication Date: 2018
The book brings together many leading scholars to present a survey of the latest research on Catholic education in areas such as the aims of Catholic education, Catholic schools, and Catholic identity, leadership issues in Catholic schools, and fresh thinking about the place of Religious Education (RE) in Catholic Education.
What Makes Education Catholic
Publication Date: 2021
In this readable and timely work, Thomas Groome explores the basis of Catholic education, from the historical Jesus to the Didache, to Augustine and Aquinas to Merici, Seton, and Ward.
To Mend the World
Publication Date: 2023
To Mend the World: A New Vision for Youth Ministry brings together practical theology, Christian ministry, and social entrepreneurship for a new approach to work with young people.
International Explorations of Contemplative Leadership in Catholic Education
Publication Date: 2019
This book highlights the model of contemplative Catholic school leadership as an influence on faith-formation cultures within the Catholic school, and it demonstrates the impact of cultural factors on Catholic identity formation.
American Catholic Schools in the Twentieth Century
Publication Date: 2022
This book focuses on the intersections between Catholic schools and public education reforms.
Faith-Based Identity and Curriculum in Catholic Schools
Publication Date: 2019
Faith-based Identity and Curriculum in Catholic Schools examines the relationship between faith-based education and whole curriculum at a time when neoliberal ideologies and market values are having a disproportionate influence on national education policies.