Research and Course Guides: Catholic Education: Finding Articles

Core Journals

Here are a few core journals on the subject of Catholic education.

Catechist
Catholic Education: Journal of Inquiry and Practice
Momentum
RTJ: The Magazine for Catechist Formation
Current Issues in Catholic Higher Education

You can check St. Thomas holdings by using the Journal Titles search on the Libraries home page.

GET IT

Click the GET IT button in any database to get the full text of an article. If UST Libraries doesn't own it, you'll be given an option to request it from another library.

More information

Try these Databases

Online databases are an important tool for locating articles and other documents related to your topic. The education databases (first 3) are helpful if your topic is more focused on the classroom. The theology database (last 1) are best when you are looking for information related to theology.

Some of the articles you find will be available in full-text online. Use the 'Full Text' button or the 'Get It' button to link to the article. Others may be available only in print. Visit the library it's held at to make a scan of the article or use Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to request the article as a PDF.

ERIC This link opens in a new window
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) provides full-text research on a wide range of education topics. Includes peer-reviewed journals, books, research syntheses, conference papers, technical reports, and much more.
Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers a wide range of education topics from early childhood to higher ed as well as educational specialties like adult education, multilingual education, and more. Includes peer-reviewed journal articles, conference papers, books, and more.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Designed for professional educators, coverage includes a range of educational topics and research levels. Access full text, peer-reviewed journals, and high-quality education trade journals.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials Plus This link opens in a new window
Our primary theology and religion index, with over 470 titles in full text out of over 2,250 titles indexed, primarily academic journal articles, books, review, and essays: international in scope. Includes the contents of the Catholic Periodical and Literature Index. Produced by the American Theological Library Association.