How to Find Primary Sources
Use this research guide to help you find Primary Sources on your topic.

Course & Subject Specific Guides
- Art History 330: Churches, Mosques of the 1st Millenium
- Art History 335: Cathedral, Monastery, and Caliphate
- ARTH 280 Sacred Space
- ARTH 282: History of American Architecture
- ARTH 291: Aztec Art
- ARTH 291: Islamic Art and Architecture
- ARTH 323 Arts of Colonial Latin America
- ARTH 340: Southern Renaissance Art
- Asian History
- Biography
- Church History (Patristic Era, Ecumentical Councils, the Papacy, and Saints)
- Colonial and Revolutionary America
- Find Primary Sources for Historical Research
- Heresies and Heretics
- HIST 111 Origins of the Modern World
- HIST 112 Modern World Since 1550
- HIST 113 Early America in Global Perspective
- HIST 114 Modern United States in Global Perspective
- HIST 116 African-American History
- HIST 119 East Asian Civilizations
- HIST 323 Irish History
- HIST 328 French Revolutionary and Napoleonic Era
- HIST 355 Civil War
- HIST 358 20th Century United States
- HIST 366 Catholic Church in the United States
- HIST 368 Women in the United States
- HIST 372 The United States and Vietnam
- HIST 374 World War II
- HIST 377 Minnesota and Twin Cities History
- HIST 463 Early Modern Europe, 1450 - 1750
- History of the Classical World
- History of the Middle Ages
- History of the Middle East and North Africa
- History Resources
- Irish Genealogy Resources
- Luxembourg Genealogy Resources
- Minnesota Information
- Music of Church/Synagogue/Mosque/Temple
History Resources
This guide introduces you to the History resources available in the University of St. Thomas Libraries. The background materials listed on this page will help you get started with your research. Click on the tabs above view other resources which will help you find books, journal articles and other materials.
Finding Background Information
Use these specialized topical sources to browse for paper topics and for information on specific events, places and themes:
- Blackwell Reference Online - History
Blackwell Reference Online - History is an online library of background works. The collection is especially rich on topics related to the history of the United States and the United Kingdom. - Oxford Reference Online - History
An online collection of background resources on a wide variety of historical topics. - African American Studies Center
The African American Studies Center contains brief articles on all aspects of the African-American experience along with images, primary sources, time lines, maps, tables, and reference resources. Limited to 3 simultaneous users. - Oxford Islamic Studies Online
Oxford Islamic Studies Online offers a multi-layered reference experience designed to provide a first stop for anyone needing information on Islam. Limited to 3 simultaneous users. - Blackwell Reference Online - ClassicsBlackwell Reference Online - Classics is an online library of background works focused on the classical Greek and Roman periods.
- Historical Statistics of the United States
The standard source for the quantitative facts of American history including statistics. Topics covered include: population, work and welfare, economics, international relations and governance.
Find Biographical Information
Use these sources to find basic biographical information on historical figures:
- American National Biography Online
American National Biography provides biographical information relating to significant men and women from all periods of United States history. Limited to 5 simultaneous users. - Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
55,000 biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the year 2003. Limited to 3 simultaneous users. - Biography In Context
Gale Biography in Context includes over 600,000 biographies on more than 500,000 people. Biographical information on people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. - Dictionary of Irish Biography
The Dictionary of Irish Biography provides biographical information on the lives of deceased Irish men and women who made a significant contribution in Ireland and abroad, as well as those born overseas who had noteworthy careers in Ireland.
Your Librarian |
Contact Info Head of Special Collections / University Archvist LL09 O'Shaughnessy-Frey Library 2115 Summit Avenue #4068 Saint Paul, MN 55105-1086 651-962-5461 (office) amkenne1@stthomas.edu Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |
About OSF
Library Hours
O' Shaughnessy-Frey Library
651-962-5494 (Circulation)
651-962-5001 (Reference)
651-962-5400 (Hours)
2115 Summit Ave, St. Paul, MN 55105
Directions & Parking
Ask a Librarian
You will be disconnected if you leave this page during a chat UNLESS you open the chat in a new window.
If you leave a message when we're offline, include your email address or other contact info, or we'll be unable to respond. Other Help options


Loading...
