Research and Course Guides: PSYC 315--Cognition: Finding Articles

Cognition Databases

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Start here when you need to find research in psychology. Which areas of psychology? Just about all of them. PsycINFO covers mental health, counseling, cognitive science, neuroscience, education, learning, family studies and language. Provides full-text access (back to the first issue) of the journals published by the American Psychological Association, as well as other association journals and many books and book chapters.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles on all aspects of medicine, published all over the world. Use for human biology, anatomy, and physiology, psychiatry, pharmacology, and health care management, administration, and policy. The MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) search is extremely helpful in finding terms. After you find an especially appropriate article, click on Related Records to find other articles of interest.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) provides full-text research on a wide range of education topics. Includes peer-reviewed journals, books, research syntheses, conference papers, technical reports, and much more.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
Covers a wide range of education topics from early childhood to higher ed as well as educational specialties like adult education, multilingual education, and more. Includes peer-reviewed journal articles, conference papers, books, and more.
Expanded content and coverage replacing Education Full Text.
PTSDpubs This link opens in a new window
PILOTS is a bibliographic database produced at the headquarters of the National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder in White River Junction, Vermont, and is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Its goal is to include citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations, while offering both current and retrospective coverage.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX with Full Text identifies resources in the field of sociology and related subject areas. It indexes over 3000 journals and provides full text for 890 journals, several dating back to 1908. It also includes full text for over 850 books and monographs, as well as over 16,800 conference reports. It also includes a thesaurus of sociological terms.

Other Related Databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access ebooks and scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, sciences, and the social sciences. Journal content is often not available until 1+ years after publication.
SciFinder-N This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SciFinder-n is the new interface for the classic version of SciFinder. SciFinder-n provides easy access to information in Chemical Abstracts Services resources: journal citations and abstracts, substance data, chemical reactions, regulatory data, chemical suppliers, and biomedical literature. Before logging in for the first time, you must register for an individual account. If you have already registered for Classic SciFinder, that login should work for SciFinder-n.
For use of UST faculty, staff and students ONLY. You must first REGISTER by creating your own unique SciFinder username and password (when registering, use your UST email address).

Newspaper and Magazine Databases

Occasionally a research study will be reported on in the news media. The research based on these reports is available in other databases, but the news media will give a "dumbed down" version for the general public. Often, they do not identify the researcher, or the source of the research.

Below are some newspaper and magazine databases. You can find these news reports in these resources. The magazine indexes below (Academice Search Premier and Expanded Academic ASAP) will also include SOME research articles. However, in order to find most research papers, you will need to search by topic in the research databases listed above, particularly PsycINFO. If you're lucky, they will identify the author, or the institution where the the research took place, and you can also use them to search.

ProQuest US Newsstream, including Star Tribune This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
US Newsstream enables users to search current U.S. news content, as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980s. It features top newspapers, wires, broadcast transcripts, along with national and regional news sources including The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Star Tribune, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, and Chicago Tribune.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
A good place to start your research, Academic Search Ultimate provides full text for scholarly publications and peer-reviewed journals as well as general interest sources.
Expanded content and coverage replacing Academic Search Premier.

Search Journal Titles

Find journals and newspapers subscribed to by St. Thomas. Enter all or the beginning of the title (e.g., New York Times or Harvard).

LibrarySearch - Audio search

GET IT

Click the GET IT button in any database to get the full text of an article. If UST Libraries doesn't own it, you'll be given an option to request it from another library.

More information

Search Google Scholar

Use GET IT @UST Libraries to get the full-text if not available in Google Scholar.