Research and Course Guides: Student Affairs: Historical Information

Finding Periodical Articles

Use the following databases to locate scholarly and peer-reviewed journal articles and book reviews on your topic.

Education Source This link opens in a new window
To find information on higher education, use (colleges or universities or "higher education") Use a term describing the era you're interested in ("cold war" or "post WWII"). The thesaurus can also help you.
America: History & Life (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index of journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations related to the history and culture of the United States and Canada from 1450 - present.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Full text for thousands of peer-reviewed journals and general interest sources across many subject areas.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access ebooks and scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, sciences, and the social sciences. Journal content is often not available until 1+ years after publication.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE provides online access to a large selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals and ebooks.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Index to journal articles and bibliographic citations to books and dissertations on the history of the world (except for the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Limited to 6 simultaneous users

Newspaper articles can give you ideas about issues that the public felt were important during the time you're interested in.

Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
The No. 1 news source for college and university faculty and administrators. Online version is updated continuously. Includes facts, opinions, job offers, book reviews, and news from college campuses everywhere. Create a free personal account to receive email newsletters, job alerts, etc.
New York Times (historical) This link opens in a new window
Complete searchable content of The New York Times from 1851 to 2020 including articles, editorials, advertisements, and photographs.
Washington Post (historical) This link opens in a new window
Complete searchable content of Washington Post from 1877 to 2008 including all articles, editorials, advertisements, and photographs.