Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

St. Thomas Libraries on Social Media: Latest

Landing page for the St. Thomas Libraries' social media accounts where you can find the links we refer to in our social media posts.

This is the landing page for St. Thomas Libraries' social media accounts where you can find the links we refer to in our social media posts.

Not all posts are archived here.

The majority of content is taken from/links to:

Throwback Thursday and University Archives Highlights

Still of 1985 video showing St. Thomas campus

1985 at St. Thomas!

#TBT to 1985 at St. Thomas! #tommies Check this video out and more on #USTLibrariesArchives video collection on Elevator https://elevator.stthomas.edu/special/asset/viewAsset/5f05d3b7c9182f1e67698f92

Black and white image of construction

1939: Building of O'Shaughnessy Hall

#TBT: 1939 Ever wondered how the amazing O’Shaughnessy Hall was built? Check out on #USTLibrariesArchives video collection on Elevator how this place came to be https://elevator.stthomas.edu/special/asset/viewAsset/5f0f5a04c9182f42e17e6a62

Photo of students reading newspaper in 1939

1939: Daily news

#TBT: 1939 Students reading up on all the daily news! Have you started your summer reading yet?! #ustlibraries #tommies Photo from #ustlibrariesarchives https://cdm16120.contentdm.oclc.org/digital/collection/arch-photo/id/453/rec/14

Still image from a video about international ed

2008 International Education Center

#TBT to 2008 and the celebration of the International Education Center at St. Thomas. From #USTLibrariesArchives video collection on Elevator! https://elevator.stthomas.edu/special/asset/viewAsset/602ea6cf96f1977eca26a543

1950s image of the Tom Cats band

Audio recording of the Tom Cats

#TBT to the 1950s and listen to the amazing Tom Cats. This traditional jazz band was comprised of St. Thomas students! From the #USTLibrariesArchives video collection on Elevator! https://elevator.stthomas.edu/special/asset/viewAsset/5f3432cfc9182f29c921b881

Black and white photo of Takashi Terami

Tales from the Archives: First Asian Professor at St. Thomas

As May is Asian Pacific American Heritage Month, this is a perfect time to highlight Takashi Terami, the first Asian professor at St. Thomas.

Black and white 1948 photo of student studying

Finals

#TBT: 1948 Finals week is upon us! Time to start studying! Photo from #ustarchives #ustlibraries #finalsweek

Still of video highlight of 1991 championship

1991 Women's Basketball

#TBT to 1991 when our women’s basketball team became winners of the Division lll National Championships! You can go watch the full video on Elevator! https://link.stthomas.edu/1991-Womens-Basketball #audiovisualcollections #ustlibraries

Still image of Rome from Bernardi Campus video

2000: Bernardi Campus opens in Rome

#TBT to 2000 when the Bernardi Campus opened up in Italy! You can now watch the short film of the opening of this beautiful addition to St. Thomas on Elevator! #ustlibraries #audiovisualcollections

Elevator: St. Thomas memories through the years

Elevator

UST Libraries would like to present you with a new audio-visual archive collection called Elevator. Within this collection you will be able to see over 150 films, speeches and musical recordings compiling St. Thomas’ memories throughout the years!! #ustlibraries #audiovisualcollections

Studio photo of Archbishop Ireland

Ireland

#TBT 1915: Archbishop Ireland Memorial Library on south campus was named in honor of our school's founder who among other issues pushed for education and literacy. Ireland Library is the graduate theology library of St. Thomas and the Saint Paul Seminary School of Divinity. https://www.stthomas.edu/libraries/ireland/about/johnireland/ #nationallibraryweek Photo from #ustlibrariesarchives

Photo of Charles Keffer on St. Paul campus

O'Shaughnessy and Keffer

#TBT 1959 and 1973 In honor of National Library Week it is only right to give a big shoutout to Mr. O'Shaughnessy and Mr. Keffer who are some important individuals in making UST Libraries what it is today. #ustlibraries #nationallibraryweek
Photo from #ustlibrariesarchives
https://cdm16120.contentdm.oclc.org/digital/collection/arch-photo/id/1193/rec/17

 

Photo of two librarians shelving books from 1956

Shelving books

#TBT 1956 Library staff shelving books in preparation for Library Week!  Photo from #ustlibrariesarchives #nationallibraryweek

Four students examine a piece of sculpture

Art

#TBT: 1950 Where students were studying an intriguing art display! Photo from the #ustlibrariesarchives

1st female class poses in front of Aquinas Hall

The first female class to graduate from St. Thomas!

#TBT: 1978 The first female class to graduate from St. Thomas! #tommiepride #tommies Photo from the #ustlibrariesarchives

1977: Students line up to get on a purple bus

Purple bus

#TBT 1977: All aboard the purple bus! #tommies Photo from the #ustlibrariesarchives

1990: B.B. King performing at St. Thomas

B.B. King

#TBT 1990: When the infamous blues guitarist B. B. King came to perform at St. Thomas.
Photo from #ustlibrariesarchives

Photo of Rosa Parks talking at St. Thomas

Rosa Parks

#TBT: 1986 When the one and only Rosa Parks came to UST and shared many wise words with students in the OEC. Photo from #ustlibrariesarchives

Yearbook photo of Charles Bellinger

Charles V. "Tex" Bellinger

#tbt 1917: Bellinger attended St. Thomas from 1917-19, excelled in studies, football, and track. Eventually, he returned to his hometown of San Antonio, TX, founding a successful African American newspaper. Read more about Bellinger. #USTLibrariesArchives

Photo of Father John Henry Dorsey

John Henry "Harry" Dorsey

#tbt 1888: John Henry “Harry” Dorsey was the 1st African American student to attend St. Thomas. In 1902 he became the 2nd African American priest ordained in the U.S. Read more about Dorsey #ustlibrariesarchives

St. Thomas Libraries Blog

Loading ...

Follow Us!