Research and Course Guides: Public Health Resources: Getting Started

Welcome to the Public Health Research Guide

This guide outlines how to get started on your public health research projects. If you'd like more one-on-one research assistance with the public health librarian, please make an appointment by clicking the "Schedule Consultation" button on the left.

Quick Links:

Ask A Librarian: Get 24/7 research help from a real librarian immediately via chat. Plus options for email, phone, zoom, or in person consultations.
Interlibrary Loan: Get articles and books UST libraries don't own delivered to you for free using this service.
Library Search: The best place to get started. Explore physical and digital materials like books, journals, ebooks, maps, videos and more
Google Scholar: Search for your topic in this database that covers many different fields and includes sources like articles, dissertations, court proceedings, professional conference papers, and more. Use the "Cited By" link to show materials that cited an article. Be sure to navigate to Google Scholar through the A-Z databases page or manually log in to be sure you get access to the full text of articles for free.

Background Information

Background information such as encyclopedia entries and dictionaries contain context for scholarly sources and helps you correctly interpret data. Reading a peer reviewed article on a specific topic? Learn more about the history of the topic, the top researchers, and any theories contained in the research by exploring the background information.

Gale eBooks

Full-text encyclopedias and dictionaries.
Oxford Reference
Oxford Reference contains full text dictionaries and encyclopedias from the Oxford University Press. It is easy to search and contains entries on a wide array of topics from business, computing and environmental science to art, biology, literature, religion, and political science.
CQ Researcher

This database contains current, in-depth reporting on health care, criminal justice, political and social trends, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy.
Science Reference Source
Easy access to full-text science content including encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, websites, pictures, illustrations, audio clips, and video clips.