Research and Course Guides: Medieval Art--All that Glitters: Getting Started

Medieval Artists

Codex St. Peter. c. 1200.

Background Information--In Print

Medieval Ireland: an Encyclopedia by Sean Duffy, editor
Call Number: UST-OSF Reference DA933 .M43 2005
ISBN: 0415940524
Medieval Germany, an Encyclopedia by John M. Jeep, editor
Call Number: UST-OSF Reference DD126 .M43 2001
ISBN: 0824076443
Medieval England, an Encyclopedia
Call Number: Available Online
ISBN: 0824057864
Artists of the Middle Ages by Leslie Ross
Call Number: UST-OSF Stacks N5975 .R684 2003
ISBN: 0313319030

google

Introduction

The art of the Medieval period is rich and varied. Artists have used a wide variety of styles and techniques ranging from textile arts to sculpture to jewelry.

The University of St. Thomas Libraries have a wealth of information in print and online about the artists and their art. For interesting discussions of the topic, head to Oxford Art Online for the introductory essays, "Illuminated manuscripts," "Gilding," "Gold," and "Mosaic."

Background Information--Electronic

Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
The most exhaustive background source for art research. Encyclopedias, dictionaries, the Grove Dictionary of Art and several other resources. Includes extensive image archives from several major North American museums. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.

Companion to Medieval Art
Romanesque and Gothic art in northern Europe.
A Companion to the Medieval World
Europe--476-1492
Women in the Middle Ages, an Encyclopedia
Entries cover people and topics ranging from the third to the fifteenth centuries, and treat well-known figures, more recently discovered or re-evaluated figures, and much more.
Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages
Articles on all aspects of the period from the fifth to the fifteenth century.

Gale in Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
Biography in Context includes over 700,000 biographical entries covering more than 400,000 notable international figures from all time periods and areas of study.

About OSF

Library Hours

O'Shaughnessy-Frey Library
651-962-5494 (Circulation)
651-962-5001 (Reference)
651-962-5400 (Hours)
2115 Summit Ave, St. Paul, MN 55105
Directions & Parking

Subject Guide

Kathryn Burke

Email Me

Contact:

O’Shaughnessy-Frey Library | LIB 117

651 962-5027

Subjects: Aerospace Studies, Art History, Catholic Studies, Environmental, Geography, Geology, Mathematics, Philosophy, Physics, Sustainability, Theology & Religion

Medieval Artists

The master metalworkers: Rainier of Huy, Godefroid de Claire, Nicholas of Verdun and Company
Eadwine: the prince of scribes
Claricia-German female artist and nun who illuminated manuscripts in 12th century
Ende--11th century nun and illustrator
Guda or Guta--German 12th century nun and illuminator
Hildegard of Bingen--1098-1179