Research and Course Guides: FINC 450: International Financial Management: Getting Started

Country Economic Studies

OECD Economic Surveys
Comprehensive economic analyses of OECD member and non-member countries

Political Risk Yearbook This link opens in a new window
Provides 45-65 page overviews of the history, economy, politics, and risk forecasts for 100 countries.
Passport This link opens in a new window
To find a country profile, open Passport (accept terms of use), then type: Chile PEST analysis (use your selected country) in the search box, then select that country profile from the auto-complete results. Also see More Related Items in left nav. Use the Economies menu to search for country data.

Statesman's Yearbook
An annual look at the politics, culture, and economies of the world. Browse or search within each annual volume.
World Factbook
Produced by the CIA, each country's profile includes demographic, political, economic, and geographic data.
World Bank Countries & Regions
Includes country profiles, statistics, and general reports.
Library of Congress Country Studies
Each Country Study includes information on the economic, political, and social system of a particular country. Also discussed are the people, their beliefs and values, and their interpersonal relationships. Covers 101 countries and regions.

FRED (Federal Reserve Economic Data)
FRED is a database of more than 55,000 economic time series maintained by the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis. Covers banking, business/fiscal, consumer prices, employment, population, exchange rates, gross domestic product (GDP), interest rates, money supply, producer price indexes (PPI), U.S. trade and international transactions, and U.S. financial data. Compiled by the Federal Reserve and collected from federal economic agencies.

International Financial Statistics This link opens in a new window
From the International Monetary Fund (IMF), international financial data and macroeconomic indicators including measures of money supply, exchange rates, trade/balance of payments, prices/inflation, interest rates, employment, and national income & product accounts.
Passport This link opens in a new window
Use the Economies tab, then select Economy, Finance and Trade to search for country data.

S&P Dow Jones Indices
Indices research website, focused on historical closing prices of dozens of various S&P and Dow Jones indices. Data is also available on constituents, characteristics, sector breakdown, and any related policies of the index in an easy-to-use format. Free registration is available for a basic data package.

Downloading Balance of Payments Data
A brief 3 minute video describing how to download Balance of Payments tables for a country from the IMF's International Financial Statistics Online database.

He/him/his

Email Me

Contact:

O’Shaughnessy-Frey Library | LIB 115

651-962-5012

Subjects: Accounting, Business, Business Analytics, Computer & Information Sciences, Data & Statistics, Economics, Engineering, Finance, Operations & Supply Chain Mgmt

Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA)
Information about BEA's international transactions (balance of payments) accounts, including all transactions between U.S. and foreign residents
World Investment Report
Focuses on foreign direct investment trends, at the regional and country level. From the United Nations.
Export.gov
Government site to assist American businesses in planning their international sales strategies. Look for their Tariff, Import Fees, and tax information.
Exporting and International Trade (State of Minnesota)
International trade information for Minnesotans, from the Department of Employment and Economic Development.