Research and Course Guides: FINC 351: Emerging Financial Markets : Getting Started

Government and Political Information

Political Risk Yearbook This link opens in a new window
Reports on the history, economy, politics, and risk forecasts of 100 countries.

Fitch Solutions Risk Reports
Provides country level risk reports covering economic and political conditions. Reports include 10 year forecasts.

Passport This link opens in a new window
Analysis, reports, data, and news for U.S. and international industries, companies and brands, consumers, and economies.
Passport user guide

World Bank Countries & Regions
Provides a convenient way to view an overview, current economic information and updates, and data on a country.
IMF Country Information
Provides a convenient way to view the country page for each of the 190 member countries. You can get a country at a glance, country data, and the IMF reports and analysis on the country.
CIA World Factbook
Produced by the CIA, each country's profile includes such information as demographics, political, economic, and geographic data.
Democracy Index (Economist Intelligence Unit)
The Democracy Index is based on 60 indicators, grouped into five categories: electoral process and pluralism, civil liberties, functioning of government, political participation and political culture.
Index of Economic Freedom (Heritage Foundation)
The Index covers 12 freedoms—from property rights to financial freedom—in 184 countries.
Business Environment Rankings (Economist Intelligence Unit)
EIU’s business environment rankings measure the attractiveness of doing business in 82 countries with 91 crucial indicators.
Ease of Doing Business Rankings
Economies are ranked on their ease of doing business, from 1–190. A high ease of doing business ranking means the regulatory environment is more conducive to the starting and operation of a local firm.

International Economic and Financial Data

Main Sources

IMF World Economic Outlook Database
Use this database to find data on national accounts, inflation, unemployment rates, balance of payments, fiscal indicators, trade for countries and country groups (aggregates), and commodity prices whose data are reported by the IMF.

International Financial Statistics This link opens in a new window
From the International Monetary Fund (IMF), international financial data and macroeconomic indicators including measures of money supply, exchange rates, trade/balance of payments, prices/inflation, interest rates, employment, and national income & product accounts.

Video: How to Download Balance of Payments Data from International Financial Statistics Online
World Development Indicators of the World Bank
World Development Indicators (WDI) is the primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates.

Other Sources

Fitch Solutions Risk Reports
Provides country level risk reports covering economic and political conditions. Reports include 10 year forecasts.
Country Profiles (Economist Intelligence Unit)
Provides a country summary and information about politics, economy, risk, regulation, business, and industry.
IMF World Economic Outlook Reports
A Survey by the IMF staff usually published twice a year. It presents IMF staff economists' analyses of global economic developments during the near and medium term.
OECD Economic Surveys
Comprehensive economic analyses of OECD member and non-member countries
OECD Data
Contains data, maps, tables, and publications on agriculture, development, economy, education, energy, environment, finance, government, health, innovation and technology, jobs, and society for OECD countries.
Eurostat
Eurostat is the statistical office of the European Union. Its mission is to provide high-quality statistics and data on Europe.
FRED Economic Data (St. Louis Fed)
FRED is a database of more than 55,000 economic time series maintained by the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis. Covers banking, business/fiscal, consumer prices, employment, population, exchange rates, gross domestic product (GDP), interest rates, money supply, producer price indexes (PPI), U.S. trade and international transactions, and U.S. financial data. Compiled by the Federal Reserve and collected from federal economic agencies.
World Investment Report (UNCTAD)
The World Investment Report focuses on trends in foreign direct investment (FDI) worldwide, at the regional and country levels and emerging measures to improve its contribution to development.

It also provides analysis on global value chains and the operations of multinational enterprises, with special attention to their development implications.

Stock Market Indices

World Stock Market Indices (Investing.com)
Provides data on market indices and their performance for developed, emerging, and frontier stock markets, currencies, commodities, ETFs, funds, and bonds.
MSCI Global Equity Indices
Provides data on MSCI stock market indices and their performance for developed, emerging, and frontier stock markets.
Yahoo Finance
Provides data on individual stocks, bonds, stock and bond market indices, currencies, commodities and ETFs.

Academic Services Librarian

Jim Kelly

He/him/his

Email Me

Contact:

O’Shaughnessy-Frey Library | LIB 115

651-962-5012

Subjects: Accounting, Business, Business Analytics, Computer & Information Sciences, Data & Statistics, Economics, Engineering, Finance, Operations & Supply Chain Mgmt