Getting Started - ETLS 723 - Biomaterials in the Design of Medical Devices - Research and Course Guides at University of St. Thomas

Medical Devices

Medical Device Manufacturers Association

MDMA Website

Society for Biomaterials

SFB Website

Matweb Materials Database

Matweb - Material Property Data
MatWeb's searchable database of material properties includes data sheets of thermoplastic and thermoset polymers such as ABS, nylon, polycarbonate, polyester, polyethylene and polypropylene; metals such as aluminum, cobalt, copper, lead, magnesium, nickel, steel, superalloys, titanium and zinc alloys; ceramics; plus semiconductors, fibers, and other engineering materials.

ASM News - the Materials Information Society

ASM News

List of Active Implantable Medical Devices

FDA approved implantable medical device list

Medical Device Recalls

FDA Medical Device Recalls

Open access journals

Biosurface and Biotribology
"Biosurface and Biotribology publishes high quality papers on the surface and tribology associated with bio-systems. The scope includes all aspects of tribology-based science and technology on natural bio-surfaces, natural organs and tissues, body fluids, bio-materials and coatings, interfaces between biological tissues and medical, sport devices or articles for daily use as well as bionic tribo-designs. Original research articles, topical reviews, case reports and short communications are welcome."
Journal of Biomedical Engineering & Medical Devices
"The Journal of Biomedical Engineering and Medical Devices is an academic journal providing an opportunity to researchers and scientists to explore the advanced and latest research developments in the field of Biomedical Engineering and related disciplines. The Journal is of highest standards in terms of quality. The Journal sought to publish articles related to Bioinstrumentation, Biomaterials, Nano materials for biomedical engineering and devices. Biomechanics, Cellular tissue and genetic engineering, Medical electronics, Clinical engineering, Medical imaging, Orthopedic surgery, Rehabilitation engineering, Systems physiology and many more. The Journal of Biomedical Engineering and Medical Devices is a scholarly Open Access journal and aims to publish the most complete and reliable source of information on the advanced and very latest research topics."

ACS Biomaterials Science & Engineering (Journal in the ACS Publications database)

American Chemical Society (ACS) Publications This link opens in a new window
ACS Publications provides full-text access to over 70 journals, including the archives, and other information published by the American Chemical Society.

Materials Engineering-Specific Resources

ASM Handbooks This link opens in a new window
The ASM Handbook provides comprehensive and practical information on the properties and performance of materials—with a particular emphasis on industrially important metals and alloys—and the processes used in the manufacture and fabrication of components. The series includes properties and selection, phase diagrams, heat treating, surface engineering, welding, powder metallurgy, mechanical testing, metallography and microstructures, materials characterization and more.

MRS Bulletin (Materials Research Society)
MRS Bulletin is one of the most widely recognized publications in advanced materials research. Each month, the Bulletin provides a comprehensive overview of a specific materials theme, along with industry and policy developments.
Matweb - Material Property Data
MatWeb's searchable database of material properties includes data sheets of thermoplastic and thermoset polymers such as ABS, nylon, polycarbonate, polyester, polyethylene and polypropylene; metals such as aluminum, cobalt, copper, lead, magnesium, nickel, steel, superalloys, titanium and zinc alloys; ceramics; plus semiconductors, fibers, and other engineering materials.

Materials Engineering Article Databases

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect offers access to the publications of Elsevier Science and its subsidiaries - nearly 2,500 journals and 30,000 books. The collection contains selected full text of journal articles (since 1995) and book chapters. The collection focuses on science, technology and medicine, it also contains many journal titles from other social science disciplines.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus calls itself the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: over 21,500 scientific journals, 130,000 books and conference proceedings, covering all fields of academic study: science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Scopus also includes 8 different citation metrics, analyzing impact at the author, article, journal, and institution levels.
Scopus vendor guide is here: https://elsevier.libguides.com/Scopus/home.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles on all aspects of medicine, published all over the world. Use for human biology, anatomy, and physiology, psychiatry, pharmacology, and health care management, administration, and policy. The MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) search is extremely helpful in finding terms. After you find an especially appropriate article, click on Related Records to find other articles of interest.
IEEE Electronic Library This link opens in a new window
Featuring content from IEEE as well as the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET), IEL contains almost one-third of the world's current literature in electrical engineering, communications, and computer science. Use IEL to find 174 IEEE journals, magazines, and transactions, 26 IET journals and magazines, 20+ IET conference title proceedings from over 1,400 IEEE and IET annual conferences and more than 2,800 approved and published IEEE standards in key technology fields.
Materials Science and Engineering Database This link opens in a new window
Featuring content from 1962 to present, the database supports materials science research, covering topics such as metals, polymers, ceramics, composites, and biomaterials dealing with areas such as corrosion, molding and casting, treatment, recycling, testing, finishing, welding, and forming. Coverage includes scholarly journals, conference papers and proceedings, books, dissertations and theses, government publications, magazines, newspapers and other sources.
Applied Science & Technology Source This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and trade publications on science, engineering & technology.
Science Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Easy access to full-text science content including encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, web sites, pictures, illustrations, audio clips and video clips. Includes ability to limit by lexile reading levels.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
A good place to start your research, Academic Search Ultimate provides full text for scholarly publications and peer-reviewed journals as well as general interest sources.
Expanded content and coverage replacing Academic Search Premier.

Patent Search Engines

Google Patents - Advanced Patent Search
All U.S. patents, issued and pending, with diagrams. Search by keyword, number, inventor, title, classification or date.
Free Patents Online
One of the most powerful, fastest and easiest patent search engines on the web. Our search allows advanced search techniques such as word stemming, proximity searching, relevancy ranking and search term weighting to help you find exactly what you are looking for.
U.S. Patent & Trademark Office
The USPTO houses full text for patents issued from 1976 to the present and TIFF images for all patents from 1790 to the present. Includes copyrights, trademarks and IP law and policy.

International Patent Search

PatentScope (WIPO)
PatentScope enables you to do searches in 1,864,332 published international patent applications (PCT) and in 7,747,749 when including patent documents from Regional and National collections.
Espacenet
Espacenet offers free access to tens of millions of patent documents worldwide. It contains information about inventions and technical developments from the 19th century right up to today.

Standards - Full Text

ASCE Library This link opens in a new window
ASCE Library is a full-text civil engineering database providing the contents of peer-reviewed journals, proceedings, e-books, and standards published by the American Society of Civil Engineers. All articles are in PDF (Portable Document Format)and many journal articles are also available in HTML format.
ASTM Compass This link opens in a new window
ASTM Compass covers a broad range of engineering disciplines including: aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science and solar engineering. Includes full text ASTM standards, journals, books, manuals, proceedings and more.
IEEE Electronic Library This link opens in a new window
Featuring content from IEEE as well as the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET), IEL contains almost one-third of the world's current literature in electrical engineering, communications, and computer science. Use IEL to find 174 IEEE journals, magazines, and transactions, 26 IET journals and magazines, 20+ IET conference title proceedings from over 1,400 IEEE and IET annual conferences and more than 2,800 approved and published IEEE standards in key technology fields.

ISO/IEC Publicly Available Standards
In accordance with ISO/IEC JTC 1 and the ISO and IEC Councils, these International Standards are publicly available for Standardization purposes.

Liaison Librarian

Jim Kelly

He/him/his

Email Me

Contact:

O’Shaughnessy-Frey Library | LIB 115

651-962-5012

Subjects: Accounting, Business, Business Analytics, Computer & Information Sciences, Data & Statistics, Economics, Engineering, Finance, Operations & Supply Chain Mgmt

Interlibrary Loan Services

Use interlibrary loan to order articles and books that are not available in the St. Thomas Libraries system. Most journal articles will be delivered via e-mail within a day or two.

UST Interlibrary Loan Services

LibrarySearch

Zotero

Use Zotero to keep track of resources, create bibliographies and internal citations in any citation style.

Zotero: Login | Installing Zotero | Help Guide
(login or create new account)

ETLS 723 - Biomaterials in the Design of Medical Devices: Getting Started