The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. The OED covers words from across the English-speaking world, from North America to South Africa, from Australia and New Zealand to the Caribbean. It also offers the best in etymological analysis and in listing of variant spellings, and it shows pronunciation using the International Phonetic Alphabet.
Literature Online is a single-point, online resource for the study and teaching of literature in English. It is a fully integrated service that combines the texts of over 357,000 works of literature with huge resources of criticism and reference. LION's corpus includes the Annual Bibliography of Language and Literature (ABELL), as well as direct links to literary criticism and reference from an extensive collection of full-text literature journals.
A one-stop-shop resource providing access to biographies, critical analyses and reviews of authors from every age and literary discipline. It covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors.
Now available from EBSCO, MLA International Bibliography covers scholarship in a broad range of Humanities disciplines related to global literatures and languages. Coverage includes materials published in more than 100 countries and in more than 50 languages, in the areas of literatures and languages from around the world.
Mythlore is a scholarly, peer-reviewed journal published by the Mythopoeic Society that focuses on the works of J.R.R. Tolkien, C.S. Lewis, Charles Williams, and the genres of myth and fantasy. All critical perspectives are welcomed.
Tolkien Studies: An Annual Scholarly Review presents the growing body of critical commentary and scholarship on both J.R.R. Tolkien's voluminous fiction and his academic work in literary and linguistic fields.
Mallorn is the peer-reviewed journal of the Tolkien Society. It publishes articles, research notes, reviews, and artwork on subjects related to, or inspired by, the life and works of J. R. R. Tolkien. It is the more scholarly sister to Amon Hen and is sent out to all members of the Tolkien Society annually.