Research and Course Guides: Classical Languages: Useful Resources

Primary Text Sources

Loeb Classical Library

More than 520 volumes of classical Latin and Greek writings with English translations.
Library of Latin Texts

Search original texts in Latin. Includes texts of the classical period, Patristic works, a corpus of Medieval Latin writing, and works of later Latin. Includes the complete works of Cicero, Virgil, Augustine, Jerome, Gregory the Great, Anselm of Canterbury, Bernard of Clairvaux, and Thomas a Kempis. Includes medieval saints' lives and travel narratives, legal texts, and theological, philosophical, and scientific treatises from the early-modern period.
LLT user's guide
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae

A comprehensive, full text database in Greek of most surviving texts from Homer to the fall of Byzantium (1453) and beyond. All texts are in Greek using ancient Greek fonts or standard transliteration for search queries. Knowledge of ancient Greek is needed to make use of this resource.
Note: You must create a username and password for the TLG site in addition to signing in with your UST credentials to access the full corpus.

Perseus Digital Library
Perseus Digital Library covers the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world. 850,000 reference articles provide background on 450,000 people, places, organizations, dictionary definitions, grammatical functions and other topics.

Sources Chrétiennes
The Sources Chrétiennes series has provided critical editions of texts from the first 1,400 years of the Church, accompanied by a French translation as well as an introduction and notes. More precisely, the series consists of editions-with-translations of Christian texts in Greek and Latin, but also in oriental languages, such as Syriac, Armenian and Georgian. Reserving the introduction, apparatus and notes for the printed series, the online database makes it possible to select texts along various criteria and to perform targeted searches both on the source texts and on the French translations that have been and are published in the series.

Academic Search Ultimate

Full text for thousands of peer-reviewed journals and general interest sources across many subject areas.
JSTOR

Access ebooks and scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, sciences, and the social sciences. Journal content is often not available until 1+ years after publication.
Project MUSE
Project MUSE provides online access to a large selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals and ebooks.
MLA International Bibliography

A database complied by the Modern Language Association of articles and books on world literature and language. Also includes articles on film studies, literary theory/criticism, drama, and linguistics.
Gale Literature Resource Center

Biographies, critical analyses, and reviews of authors from every age and literary discipline. Covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors.
Art Full Text

Art Full Text is a database providing access to over 320 full-text periodicals. It is a comprehensive resource covering fine art, decorative and commercial art, as well as photography, folk art, film, architecture, and much more.

Wiley Online Library - Classical Studies
Blackwell Reference Online includes over 425 reference works, making it the largest online collection of social science and humanities reference content available online.
Oxford Latin-English Dictionary
This practical dictionary is designed specifically to meet the needs of students in their first years of studying Latin, as well as those with an interest in the Latin language or the classical world.
Oxford Dictionary of the Classical World
Contains more than 2,500 entries on the civilizations of ancient Greece and Rome. The dictionary covers key aspects of ancient Greek and Roman life and literature, such as science, social structure, philosophy, and religion, and contains comprehensive articles on central figures, both real and mythological, from Achilles to Zeno.
The Concise Oxford Companion to Classical Literature
This encyclopedia gives accounts of the lives of many classical authors, as well as character entries and plot summaries for their works. General entries trace the development of literary forms such as comedy and tragedy. There is also wide coverage of the historical, political, social, and artistic background.