Skip to Main Content

SciFinder-n Guide: Overview

Getting Started

In January 2020, St. Thomas Libraries transitioned from SciFinder to SciFinder-n. SciFinder-n provides many of the same search capabilities as SciFinder with a new search interface. This guide is intended to introduce users to the SciFinder-n platform. 

Transitioning from SciFinder to SciFinderⁿ

If you already have a SciFinder account, you will be able to log in to SciFinderⁿ via the new platform and do not need to set up a new account. If you are new to SciFInder, see the Registration page for instructions on setting up an account. Use the link below to access SciFinderⁿ.

Key Features

SciFinder-n provides access to a variety of different sources of chemical information. Here are a few of the features you may find helpful:

  • Structure Searching - Draw or upload structures to perform exact, substructure, or similarity searches
  • Substance Searching - Find chemical information by keyword CAS registry numbers, or patent number.
  • Reaction Searching
  • Reference Search
  • Retrosynthesis Planning
  • Citation Mapping

Databases Included in SciFinder-n

Databases Included:

  • CAPlus - bibliographic entries from Chemical Abstracts back to 1907.  Over 1,500 core chemical journals are included, as well as patents, books, conference procedings, etc.  Link out to Find It @ UT to connect to electronic full text or check for print holdings.
  • MEDLINE - bibliographic entries in the medical sciences back to 1949
  • CAS REGISTRY - Chemicals and biochemical sequences searchable by name, number, formula, or structure, with experimental and predicted property data.
  • CHEMLIST - Registry of regulated chemicals.
  • CHEMCATS - Chemical supplier catalogs.
  • CASREACT - Individually indexed reaction schemes back to 1840.
  • MARPAT - Searchable Markush structures from patents covered by CAS from 1988.
  • CIN (Chemical Industry Notes) - bibliographic entries from chemical industry trade publications from 1974.

A table showing the full contents of SciFinder-n is available on the CAS website.

Associate Director | Research, Education & Engagement

Profile Photo
Karen Brunner
Contact:
O'Shaughnessy-Frey Library |
Room 118
651-962-5011

© 2023 University of St. Thomas, Minnesota