Research and Course Guides: DIMA342: Media, Culture & Society, Fall 2020: Books & Media

_

Locating books in the library

After locating a book in CLICnet, make sure you have the following information:

•Call Number (this is the "address" of the book)
•Status (whether the book is Available or checked out)
•Location/Floor

Remember:
Call numbers are book shelf-addresses, unique to a single book. They indicate where a book is located in the library. Books are arranged alphabetically by the beginning letters of their call numbers. You will find the call number attached to or written on the spine of the book.

Once you find the book in the stacks, browse the shelf/shelves around it -- you might find additional books that will be helpful to you.

How to use CLICSearch

Super helpful Guide for using CLICSearch!

*CLICsearch
by Karen Brunner Last Updated Jan 6, 2021 57 views this year

CLICsearch book search

Results here are limited to books, ebooks, and book chapters.

CLICsearch Video Search

Search results limited here to streaming video and DVD titles.

"Fun Fact"...

FYI and enjoy!! Not (necessarily) Class Related.

Swank
Swank Digital Campus allows the UST community to stream major motion pictures. You can watch any film from the interface or you can link the movie and add it to Canvas and assign it to students as course reserves.
Swank works best with Chrome or Firefox version 47 and up.
NOTE: This Collection is limited to classroom and personal use. This collection cannot be used for campus screenings (not for public events).
Hoopla
Hoopla provides streaming video (movies and TV shows). Popular titles and classics, fiction and nonfiction are available. For information about devices and more visit Hoopla help.

NOTE: You must use your UST email and password to authenticate into Hoopla (if your password is longer than 20 characters, you will need to change your UST password to fewer than 20 characters). You MUST use your UST email to create a separate Hoopla account. You can check out up to 7 titles per month.
NOTE: This collection is limited to classroom use and personal use. This collection cannot be used for campus screenings (not for public events).

Media Resources

Films on Demand
Films on Demand is a multi-disciplinary database of streaming videos (electronic videos) from Films Media Group. It provides academic videos in the subject areas of psychology, history, literature, languages, engineering, business, art, sociology, sciences and more. Now it covers foreign films under the World Cinema Collection.
Media Education Foundation Films
A database that contains documentaries and educational films on social, political, cultural issues, education, and American history.
Academic Video Online
Academic Video Online (formerly VAST) is a collection of streaming videos covering the areas of art, architecture, business, counseling and therapy, dance, economics, education, ethnic studies, ethnography, gay and lesbian studies, health, history, humanities, law and public safety, literature, opera, philosophy, political science, psychology, religion, science, theater, and women's studies.
Psychotherapy.net
Psychotherapy.net features diverse collections of high quality training videos in the field of counseling, psychotherapy, addiction, and social work. The majority of the videos show therapists, social workers and other mental health professionals conducting therapy and demonstrating clinical skills, along with pre and post discussions. Includes most major theoretical orientations, including cognitive-behavioral, psychoanalytic/psychodynamic, family systems, existential-humanistic, motivational interviewing, and many others. Most video titles include downloadable Instructor’s Manual.
Docuseek2
- This link opens in a new window
Docuseek2 is an electronic video database covering the films by the distributors Bullfrog Films and Icarus Films. It contains documentaries in the areas of: Environmental Studies, Political Science, Peace & Justice, Criminal Justice, Latin American, History, Art, Media Studies, and more.

Libraries

DIMA342: Media, Culture & Society, Fall 2020: Books & Media

Introduction to CLICsearch

_