American Law by Lawrence M. Friedman; Grant M. HaydenThis book provides an introduction to the American legal system for a broad readership. Its focus is on law in practice, on the role of the law in American society; and how the social context affects the living law of the United States. It covers the institutions of law creation andapplication, law in American government, American legal culture and the legal profession, American criminal and civil justice, and civil rights. Clearly written, the book has been widely used in both undergraduate and graduate courses as an introduction to the legal system; it will be useful, too,to a general audience interested in understanding how this vital social system works. This new edition follows the same basic structure as applied in the previous editions providing a thorough revision and reworking of the text.This edition reflects upon what has happened in the years since the first edition was published in 1985, and how these events and evolutions have shaped our fundamental comprehension of the workings of the American legal system today.
Call Number: Main Collection: KF387 .F74 2017
Publication Date: 2016-12-19
American Law 101 by Jasper KimAmerican Law 101: An Easy Primer on the U.S. Legal System is a thorough introduction to American legal principles, a highly accessible user s guide into both the spirit and the black letter law underlying the U.S. legal system. Everyone who wants a better, working understanding of U.S. law and the way it is applied foreign lawyers, law students or those thinking about law school, business professionals, journalists, and the simply curious can use this straightforward, approachable guide to the American legal system. American Law 101 offers: .Easy-to-read and succinct explanations and examples of most of the concepts covered in U.S. law schools .Concepts and terms explained in plain English, with minimum use of American colloquialisms, cultural references, and slang .Short executive summaries of each chapter that cover the most crucial, "big picture" applications of the concepts covered .Simple and useful diagrams .Complete copies of the U.S. Constitution and Bill of Rights, as well as a glossary of legal terms Chapters include, thinking like an American lawyer, contracts, torts, constitutional law, criminal law and procedure, American perspectives on international business and public law, and alternative dispute resolution and civil litigation. American Law 101 offers a better understanding of the U.S. legal system--and the legal professionals working in it to domestic and international readers."
Call Number: 3-Hour Reserves: KF386 .B59 2006 and e-book
Publication Date: 2006-04-05
American Law in a Global Context by George P. Fletcher; Steve SheppardBook contents: 1. common law -- 2. civil law -- 3. language of law : common and civil -- 4. Legal reasoning -- 5. constitution as code -- 6. Judicial review -- 7. Federalism -- 8. alternative constitution -- 9. Equality prevails -- 10. Freedom fights back -- 11. jury -- 12. Due process ascendant -- 13. Coordinating the states -- 14. Multiple common laws? -- 15. Feudalism in land law -- 16. triumph of equity -- 17. Contemporary property -- 18. frontiers of property -- 19. Contract as law -- 20. Contract as justice -- 21. Contractual harm -- 22. Foundations of tort law -- 23. Economic efficiency -- 24. From contributory to comparative fault -- 25. Disputed boundaries : punitive damages -- 26. American civil trial in outline -- 27. Where would you rather be tried? -- 28. fate of Bernhard Goetz -- 29. Self-defense : domestic and international -- Summary : the right and the reasonable -- App. 1. How to read (and brief) a case -- App. 2. Common law method; or, how to do things with cases -- App. 3. interpretation of statutes.
Call Number: Main Collection: KF380 .F59 2005 and e-book
Publication Date: 2005
The American Legal System for Foreign Lawyers by Eldon H. Reiley; Connie de la VegaFrom the book description: this powerful teaching tool puts an emphasis on vocabulary and solid learning aids to introduce the American legal system to foreign law students. Focusing on constitutional law, the authors provide in-depth coverage of major issues such as the health care mandate, Arizona immigration law, the Defense of Marriage Act, affirmative action, the Supreme Court citation on international authority and more. The American Legal System for Foreign Lawyers uses contract law to show the continued development of common law and considers the role and function of judges, characterizing the differences between common and civil law. Other important issues are highlighted such as the differences between judicial review of legislation under constitutional challenge, judicial interpretation of statutes, and judicial development and application of common law contract and property law principles.
Call Number: 3-Hour Reserves: KF387 .R448 2012
Publication Date: 2012
Law 101 by Jay M. FeinmanIn each of the first three editions of the bestselling Law 101, Jay Feinman gave readers an upbeat and vivid examination of the American legal system. Since the third edition was published in 2010, much has happened: several key Supreme Court cases have been decided, we've seen sensationalcriminal trials, and the legal system has had to account for the latest developments in Internet law.This fully updated fourth edition of Law 101 accounts for all this and more, as Feinman once again provides a clear introduction to American law. The book covers all the main subjects taught in the first year of law school, and discusses every facet of the American legal tradition, includingconstitutional law, the litigation process, and criminal, property, and contracts law. To accomplish this, Feinman brings in the most noteworthy, infamous, and often outrageous examples and cases. We learn about the case involving scalding coffee that cost McDonald's half a million dollars, the murder trial in Victorian London that gave us the legal definition of insanity, and theepochal decision of Marbury vs. Madison that gave the Supreme Court the power to declare state and federal law unconstitutional. A key to learning about the law is learning legal vocabulary, and Feinman helps by clarifying terms like "due process" and "equal protection," as well as by drawingdistinctions between terms like "murder" and "manslaughter."Above all, though, is that Feinman reveals to readers of all kinds that despite its complexities and quirks, the law is can be understood by everyone. Perfect for students contemplating law school, journalists covering legislature, or even casual fans of "court-television" shows, Law 101 is a clearand accessible introduction to the American legal system.New to this edition:Featured analysis of:* the Obamacare case* Citizens United* the DOMA decision* the Trayvon Martin caseAs well as recent legal developments pertaining to:* online contracting* mortgages* police investigations* criminal sentencing
Call Number: Main Collection: KF387 .F45 2014 and e-book
Publication Date: 2014-09-01
Legal Gridlock by Thomas C. FischerAmericans have always placed great faith in the rule of law. Today it may be too much. As the volume and complexity of legislation grows, as more behavior is criminalized and jails overfill, as the cost of litigation mounts and jury verdicts skyrocket, legal gridlock becomes a real prospect. Public interest in the law is clearly growing. But the highly selective, frequently aberrant snapshots the public gets via the media often obscure what is really happening. Legal Gridlock examines the American legal system from top to bottom and suggests what is wrong and what might be changed to prevent cost and delay from strangling social and commercial progress. It critiques our system from a variety of perspectives, including: the form and function of government (originally designed in reaction to a remote and insensitive monarch); the proper role of courts and alternatives thereto; and the problems of law enforcement, legal training, and the legal profession. Incessantly resorting to law to resolve all uncertainty and right every conceivable wrong is a recipe for gridlock. Too much law is as bad as too little. Other civilized nations get by with far less law than we do, and yet they are safe and secure. Are we worshipping a false god? Our expectations simply exceed reality. There is a limit to the rule of law. Legal Gridlock is balanced and non-technical. It is meant for the average reader who is concerned about the direction in which our legal and political system is headed. It warns of a serious crisis facing America. "The book is quite easy to read, makes complex subjects simple, and raises a lot of important issues. This book deals in realities, not myths, about the limits of our government, the rule of law and the legal profession and addresses how the law works and how it doesn't always work very well. Expect to learn something new, or at least a new nuance, from every chapter in this book." -- Theodore Collins, Of Counsel, Perkins Coie; former General Counsel, The Boeing Company; Fellow, American Bar Foundation. "Professor Fischer's diverse American and international legal experiences form the basis of Legal Gridlock: A Critique of the American Legal System. In it he describes, from the perspective of one who has seen other solutions, the shortcomings of the American legal system and its failure to address adequately problems of a more global and complex society. His non-legal writing style and a minimum of footnotes keep the reader's attention on the author's core thoughts." -- Juergen R. Ostertag, Partner, Pryor Cashman LLP, New York City "In Legal Gridlock, Fischer's passion is palpable. He wants change to happen and he offers tangible, easy-to-understand ways to make it happen. Not only does he promote a reformation of our legal system, he inspires his readers to seek change too." -- Maura Beth Pagano, Seattle University Magazine