Negotiations

Advanced Negotiation and Mediation Theory and Practice by Thomas F. Guernsey; Paul J. Zwier The book provides attorneys with an outline to plan and implement effective negotiating techniques. Guernsey and Zwier use up-to-date situations throughout the book to demonstrate how understanding negotiation theory and practice can help lawyers teach their clients to make better strategic use of negotiation. It breaks the counseling process into stages and shows what information the client needs in order to make an informed decision.

Beyond Reason by Roger Fisher; Daniel Shapiro "Written in the same remarkable vein as Getting to Yes, this book is a masterpiece." --Dr. Steven R. Covey, author of The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People * Winner of the Outstanding Book Award for Excellence in Conflict Resolution from the International Institute for Conflict Prevention and Resolution * In Getting to Yes, renowned educator and negotiator Roger Fisher presented a universally applicable method for effectively negotiating personal and professional disputes. Building on his work as director of the Harvard Negotiation Project, Fisher now teams with Harvard psychologist Daniel Shapiro, an expert on the emotional dimension of negotiation and author of Negotiating the Nonnegotiable: How to Resolve Your Most Emotionally Charged Conflicts. In Beyond Reason, Fisher and Shapiro show readers how to use emotions to turn a disagreement-big or small, professional or personal-into an opportunity for mutual gain.

Book Chapter: Negotiation and Bargaining: Role of Lawyers by James D. Wright (Editor-In-Chief) Negotiation is a communication process that lawyers use to resolve disputes and to complete transactions on behalf of their clients. Two models are likely to guide lawyers' negotiations: a distributive model, which posits that negotiation is primarily a zero-sum game; and a problem-solving model, which posits that negotiation is a collaborative search for joint gains. Regardless of the negotiation model(s) employed, lawyer-negotiators find that predictable strategic, psychological, and structural barriers often arise to prevent them from obtaining optimal negotiation outcomes for their clients.

Creative Problem Solver's Handbook for Negotiators and Mediators by John W. Cooley; American Bar Association, Section of Dispute Resolution Staff (Contribution by); Association for Conflict Resolution Staff (Contribution by) v. 1. A guide for practitioners, academics, and students of creative problem solving -- v. 2. A portable primer for practitioners.

Essential Lawyering Skills by Stefan H. Krieger; Richard J. Neumann Essential Lawyering Skills, now in its Fourth Edition, provides concise, straightforward explanations of problem solving, interviewing, counseling, negotiation, and fact analysis. Highly regarded in their field, authors Krieger and Neumann use numerous examples to illustrate new concepts, place topics in context, and engage student interest. Coverage of professional responsibility is integrated throughout the text. The Fourth Edition incorporates insights from the latest research on fact analysis, the storytelling process, and negotiation theory. The updated Teacher's Manual provides new material and suggestions for designing effective experiential learning courses. An ideal vehicle for teaching, Essential Lawyering Skills features: clear and succinct discussion that focus on the lawyer-client relationship and the mechanics of negotiation and persuasion, rather than on theory complete coverage of problem solving, interviewing, counseling, negotiation, and fact analysis an outstanding explication of the persuasive value of facts, with visual aids that show students how to organize their facts into fact patterns generous use of interesting examples that place topics in context integrated coverage of professional responsibility issues where appropriate a comprehensive Teacher s Manual New to the Fourth Edition: new insights for fact analysis from cognitive science research updated coverage of the storytelling process and negotiation theory state-of-the-art techniques for fact investigation

Getting to Yes by Roger Fisher; Bruce Patton; William L. Ury The key text on problem-solving negotiation-updated and revised Getting to Yes has helped millions of people learn a better way to negotiate. One of the primary business texts of the modern era, it is based on the work of the Harvard Negotiation Project, a group that deals with all levels of negotiation and conflict resolution. Getting to Yes offers a proven, step-by-step strategy for coming to mutually acceptable agreements in every sort of conflict. Thoroughly updated and revised, it offers readers a straight- forward, universally applicable method for negotiating personal and professional disputes without getting angry-or getting taken.

Handbook of Research on Negotiation by Mara Olekalns (Editor); Wendi L. Adair (Editor) This Handbook combines a review of negotiation research with state-of-the-art commentary on the future of negotiation theory and research. Leading international scholars give insight into both the factors known to shape negotiation and the questions that we need to answer as we strive to deepen our understanding of the negotiation process. This Handbook provides analyses of the negotiation process from four distinct perspectives: negotiators' cognition and emotion, social processes and social inferences, communication processes, and complex negotiations, covering trade, peace, environment, and crisis negotiations.Providing an introduction to key topics in negotiation, written by leading researchers in the field, the book will prove insightful for undergraduate students. It also incorporates an excellent summary of past research as well as highlights new directions negotiation research might take which will be valuable for postgraduate students and academics wishing to expand their knowledge on the subject.

Legal Negotiation in a Nutshell by Larry L. Teply Follows the entire process from opening negotiations to settlement. Text first introduces negotiation in law practice and representing a client in legal negotiation. Covers the basic types of legal negotiations, case evaluation, and preparation. Also addresses the types of legal disputes that should not be negotiated. Examines negotiating styles and strategies, as well as the stages of legal negotiation.

Negotiation Analysis by Howard Raiffa; John Richardson; David Metcalfe This masterly book substantially extends Howard Raiffa's earlier classic, The Art and Science of Negotiation. It does so by incorporating three additional supporting strands of inquiry: individual decision analysis, judgmental decision making, and game theory. Each strand is introduced and used in analyzing negotiations. The book starts by considering how analytically minded parties can generate joint gains and distribute them equitably by negotiating with full, open, truthful exchanges. The book then examines models that disengage step by step from that ideal. It also shows how a neutral outsider (intervenor) can help all negotiators by providing joint, neutral analysis of their problem. Although analytical in its approach--building from simple hypothetical examples--the book can be understood by those with only a high school background in mathematics. It therefore will have a broad relevance for both the theory and practice of negotiation analysis as it is applied to disputes that range from those between family members, business partners, and business competitors to those involving labor and management, environmentalists and developers, and nations.

Negotiation Essentials for Lawyers by Andrea Kupfer Schneider; Christopher Honeyman; American Bar Association, Section of Dispute Resolution Staff (Contribution by) This practical, easy-to-use guide is designed to help you figure out quickly what went wrong in yesterday's meetings, and how to fix it in tomorrow's follow-up. Each chapter starts with a brief introduction, followed by a standard section, Why This Concept Might Change Your Thinking. There, the author explains succinctly why their body of work might be useful specifically for lawyers. After that, each chapter has a section called Action Plan--What You Can Do Differently Tomorrow in which each author outlines specific steps you can take in your next negotiation. No other book comes close to this level of help for a lawyer facing a typical or even downright strange negotiating problem. This guide contains everything you need to know about negotiating in one compact volume.

Psychology for Lawyers by Jennifer K. Robbennolt; Jean R. Sternlight Psychology for Lawyers introduces practicing lawyers and law students to some of the key insights offered by the field of psychology. The first part of the book offers a crash course in those aspects of psychology that will be most useful to practicing attorneys, including issues such as perception, memory, judgment, decision making, emotion, influence, communication, and the psychology of justice. The second part applies the insights of research to tasks that lawyers face on a regular basis, including interviewing, negotiating, counseling, and conducting discovery. In addition, the book offers practical suggestions for improving your practice--suggestions that are grounded in the science of psychology. In short, by learning more about psychology and how to apply it, lawyers will be more effective, more successful, more ethical, and even happier. Comprehensive in discussion, this guide discusses aspects of social and cognitive psychology that are most relevant to lawyering: perception, memory, judgment, decision making, emotion, influence, communication and the psychology of justice. The authors include clear writing drawing on lots of current and interesting examples, chapter summaries, and extensive endnotes and helpful bibliographies for each chapter for those readers desiring more depth on particular issues.

Structured Negotiation by Lainey Feingold Imagine successfully resolving legal claims without depositions, expert battles, or runaway costs. Picture a process that offers win-win solutions, encourages relationships, and does not involve lawsuits. This is Structured Negotiation, the alternative dispute resolution method described in this ground-breaking book. Lainey Feingold has used Structured Negotiation for two decades to achieve landmark settlements with some of the largest entities in the United States. Now she offers a nuts and bolts guide for attorneys and advocates eager for an effective new strategy to resolve legal claims. Book jacket.