Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search for Books and eBooks
LibrarySearch provides a simple, one-stop search for books, articles, videos, recordings, and more. Items from St. Thomas and other regional libraries can be requested online and delivered to the St. Thomas library of your choice. My account
Reference eResources for Sociological Theory Research
These resources are available in ebook format through the CLICnet catalog. Click on the title link to go to directly to the resource, or to the record in CLICnet which provides access to that publication.
Sociology General Reference Sources
These resources provide basic and background information for sociology research.
Encyclopedia of sociology by
Call Number: OSF Ref HM425 .E5 2000
This is one of the major basic, in-depth encyclopedias covering the field of sociology. Each of the articles in this 5-volume set ar signed and include a list of reference on each topic.
Encyclopedia of social measurement by
Call Number: OSF Ref H62 .E53 2005
This 3-volume resource covers both quantitative and qualitative research measurement in the social sciences. It covers general topics in alphabetical order. Each article includes a glossary of terms and a bibliography for further reading.
These resources are available electronically in the UST Libraries collections.
Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology Online
The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology is the reference for students, researchers, librarians, and academics in the field. Articles are written by an international array of experts in the area. It includes over 1800 entries including key concepts, introductions to sociological theories and research, and extensive bibliographies for each article. It is regularly updated.
Wiley Online Library
Wiley Online Library (formerly Blackwell Reference Online) is a vast online library giving instant access to the most authoritative and up-to-date scholarship across the humanities and social sciences.
Full-text encyclopedias and dictionaries.