Research and Course Guides: Choosing a Research Paper Topic: Sources for Researching Topic Selection

Law Review Databases

Seton Hall Circuit Review
Call Number: K23 .E827 through 2017, online for current editions
See the “Current Circuit Splits” column.

The following databases allow you to search for law review articles:

Hot Topics Databases

Westlaw Topical Highlights databases: Westlaw Edge > Secondary Sources > Under "Tools & Resources" on the right, select "Westlaw Bulletins and Topical Highlights". Under the "Westlaw Bulletins" section, Westlaw Bulletin and U.S. Supreme Court are especially useful.

LexisNexis Law360: Lexis Plus > Legal News Hub.

Legal News on Westlaw and LexisNexis

Westlaw

News Index

Legal Newspapers and Newsletters

LexisNexis

News

Legal & Nonlegal Newspapers

ABA Journal
Call Number: Online
Available in print format on library shelf through 2013, and online through several databases, including Westlaw and LexisNexis.
Minnesota Legal Periodical Index by edited by Barbara Golden
Available online through CLICnet.
National Law Journal
Call Number: K14 .A858 and online
Available in print format through 2017 and online through Factiva and LexisNexis.
Proquest Global Newstream
Call Number: online
Global Newsstream searches the most recent global news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites. Full text of The New York Times, Star Tribune, Pioneer Press, and Wall Street Journal.

Industry & Trade Newspapers

Many included in Bloomberg's databases (see below).
Westlaw - Business & Trade News by Industry database

Bloomberg's Law Reviews and Journals

Bloomberg Law’s Law Review and Journals

Provides resources for:

Finding a Topic
Digging Deeper
Keeping Current
Staying Organized

Litigation Reports

Mealey’s Litigation Reports

Available on LexisNexis: Lexis Advance > Legal News > Mealey’s

Andrew’s Litigation Reports

Available on Westlaw: Westlaw Edge > Secondary Sources > Legal Newspapers and Newsletters > Under left side Topic menu, select "Litigation"

Foreign & Comparative Law

European Centre for Minority Issues
Call Number: Online
The European Center for Minority Issues (ECMI) conducts practice-oriented research, provides information and documentation, and offers advisory services concerning minority-majority relations in Europe. This library contains several publications of the ECMI, including ECMI Reports, Annual Reports, Working Papers, and much more.
Foreign & International Law Resources Database
Call Number: Online
This database includes in-depth publications of the American Society of International Law and prominent Yearbooks from around the world, including the Hague Permanent Court of International Justice series. It also includes U.S. Law Digests, International Tribunals/Judicial Decisions, and more.
International Law Association Reports
Call Number: Online
The International Law Association's objectives are the study, clarification and development of international law, both public and private, and the furtherance of international understanding and respect for international law. The International Law Association Reports of Conferences contain the International Committees' reports and a record of the discussions at the Conference working sessions, together with the adopted Resolutions.

Choosing a Research Paper Topic

Search the Library Catalog

Online Resources

Blogs