Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search Journal Titles
See if UST subscribes to a particular journal
Enter all or beginning of the title
Or - browse by subject:
ONLINE Music Education Journals
Primary vs. Secondary Sources
Click the GET IT buttons within any of our databases to get the full text of the article (if available). We don't own every e-journal, but those that we do own will be available through the GET IT button. Those that aren't available can be requested through ILLiad.
Watch this video for more info.
The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database provides information about 1.3 million items related to education, including journal articles, books, conference papers, statistical or research reports and other items. It is THE essential tool for research in education.
Education Full Text
Education Full Text indexes over 770 education journals, as well as some monographs and yearbooks. Over 400 of the journals are peer-reviewed and almost half are available in full text. It also includes several peer-reviewed open access journals. The indexing starts in 1983, and the full text starts in 1996. Approximately 75-100 of the titles are not indexed in ERIC and it is a complementary resource to use with ERIC.
JSTOR provides access to ebooks and scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, sciences and the social sciences. Works best in Chrome (Firefox creates problems with pop-up blockers).
Covering all styles and genres of popular and classical music, Music Index indexes nearly 800 music periodicals from around the world from 1972 to the present; some titles are indexed starting in 1970. Includes citations to book reviews, obituaries, dissertations, and articles about music, musicians, and the music industry. Includes links to full text articles in JSTOR and EBSCO Host. For access to citations from 1949-1972, consult the print version (OSF REF ML 118 .M973).
Dissertations and Theses
This database provides citations for over 2.7 million dissertations and theses from colleges and universities around the world. Close to half are available in PDF form that researchers can download. All St. Thomas dissertations that have been submitted to the database are available in PDF also. If you should come across a document that does not have a PDF, you may purchase a copy or request it through interlibrary loan (ILLiad).
Mental Measurements Yearbook & Tests in Print
Mental Measurements Yearbook describes and critically analyzes of more than 2000 commercially available standardized English-language tests: educational, personality, aptitude, neuropsychological, achievement, and intelligence. Evaluates tests for validity, reliability, and ease of testing. No full-text tests are included. Tests in Print (TIP) is a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests currently in print in the English language. Limited to 4 simultaneous users.
Academic Search Premier
A good place to start your research, Academic Search Premier provides full text for scholarly publications and peer-reviewed journals as well as general interest sources.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale (RILM) publishes a comprehensive bibliography of writings on music serving the global music research community. Today RILM abstracts of music literature has over 950,000 records in 143 languages from 178 countries. It covers Western classical music, ethnomusicology, popular music, and jazz, and music-related content from associated disciplines such as, anthropology, archaeology, architecture, art history, dance, drama, literature, pedagogy, and more).
Ulrichsweb is a bibliographic database providing detailed, comprehensive, and authoritative information on serials published throughout the world. It covers all subjects, and includes publications that are published regularly or irregularly and are circulated free of charge or by paid subscription.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
This resource is the first place to go when trying to locate statistical information.
It provides tables with statistics in many different areas, and includes links to
original source data to help locate related data. Earlier editions are also available.
Project MUSE provides online access to a large selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals and ebooks.