Research and Course Guides: MGMT 805: International Business: Country Information

Introduction

Use these resources when you look for background information about a country. Remember that relevant country information is not just state or economic data, but it can also includes demographic, cultural and historical information. All of these factors can come into play when deciding if a country is receptive to a foreign country or a new product.

Library Databases

Use these resources when you look for background information about a country that you want to do business with. Remember that relavant country information is not just government and economic data, but also includes demographic information, culture, and history. All of these factors come into play when decided whether or not a country will be receptive to a foreign company or a new product.

Political Risk Yearbook This link opens in a new window
Provides 45-65 page overviews of the history, economy, politics, and risk forecasts for 100 countries. It provides 10 years of economic data, with description and analysis of the political players and situation written by experts.
Political Handbook of the World Online Edition This link opens in a new window
Political science and journalism researchers will find this resource useful for comprehensive country profiles, chronicles of national history, government, and political parties, as well as information on intergovernmental organizations, development banks, and the agencies and specialized bodies of the United Nations.

Country Forecast for Germany - June 2019
A very current and detailed report about the economic and political environment in Germany.

Quality country information from the web

While library databases contain fantastic business and country information, there are quality sources on the free web that have been established by government agencies and universities which you can use with confidence.

Germany Country Commercial Guide
Published by the U.S. Commercial Service, the trade promotion arm of the U.S. Department of Commerce’s International Trade Administration, Country Commercial Guides provide detailed trade, economic and political conditions in countries that provide information for companies and individuals expanding into other countries.
Doing Business Database - Germany
The Doing Business project provides objective measures of business regulations for local firms in 183 economies. This link focuses on the ease of doing business in Germany and compares it to other countries in the region.
Doing Business in the EU
How to start a business in the EU, what funding is available, rules about employing people, social and ecological responsibilities, taxation and accounting rules.
Geert Hofstede Cultural Dimensions
Comparision of how values in the workplace are influenced by culture. Based on research by Prof. Geert-Hofstede, the scale gives perspective as to the business culture and negotiation styles of communication. This tool also allows the user to compare the negotiation styles between two countries.