Research and Course Guides: SOCI 210--Research Methods: Background Information

Electronic Resources

These resources can help you find interesting topics and give you excellent background information

Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology Online This link opens in a new window
The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology is the reference for students, researchers, librarians, and academics in the field. Articles are written by an international array of experts in the area. It includes over 1800 entries including key concepts, introductions to sociological theories and research, and extensive bibliographies for each article. It is regularly updated.
Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
Issues & Controversies explores more than 800 timely, in-depth, and objective articles on topics such as politics, government, business, education, and popular culture. It is updated weekly and provides links to a 13-year backfile. Also included are links to news coverage, pros and cons statements, timelines, statistics, etc.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Articles, journals, and books published by Wiley across a variety of disciplines.

Annual Review of Sociology
This resource includes annual updates which cover what research is being done in the field.

Search for Books and eBooks

LibrarySearch provides a simple, one-stop search for books, articles, videos, recordings, and more. Items from St. Thomas and other regional libraries can be requested online and delivered to the St. Thomas library of your choice. My account

Other Resources for Sociology

These are other encyclopedias and handbooks which provide an overview of information for specific topics within the field of Sociology.

The SAGE Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood Studies by Daniel Thomas Cook, Rutgers University–Camden

ISBN: 1787858383

Publication Date: 2020

Reference eResources for Sociology

These resources are available in ebook format through the CLICnet catalog. Click on the title link to go to the record in CLICnet which provides access to that publication.