Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Articles chop up your topic into little, narrow questions. If you find 5 articles, each presenting a narrow study, it's often hard to see how they fit together and what question they are all trying to answer. But encyclopedias and handbooks
- Give you overviews of your topic
- Lead you to the important questions asked by researchers.
- Contain articles written by experts in their fields.
- Put your idea or question into a historical, research, or social context.
- Lead you to further references.
Annual Reviews on Personality
Annual Reviews have great overviews, long literature reviews, on general topics in psychology and clinical psychology.
- Find new topics.
- Get great references.
- See what the field is interested in.
- See where gaps are in the research.
Want to find overviews in personality? Here's my blog post on searching in Annual Reviews.
Elsevier Dictionary of Psychological Theories by
Describes psychological theories in all fields of psychology -- statistical, family therapy, personality, etc. The preface states that the book contains both good and "not so good" theories, expecting the descriptions to aid the reader in deciding which type of theory is encountered. Includes references to the original proposals and to later analyses and reviews.
Encyclopedias and Handbooks
The Oxford Handbook of Emotion Dysregulation
Emotion dysregulation - which is often defined as the inability to modulate strong affective states including impulsivity, anger, fear, sadness, and anxiety - is observed in nearly all psychiatric disorders. This title brings together experts whose work cuts across levels of analysis, including neurobiological, cognitive, and social, in studying emotion dysregulation.
Handbook of Research Methods in Health Social Sciences
Profiles traditional and emergent research methods in health social sciences and highlights best practice in health social science research
Handbook of Research Methods in Clinical Psychology
Long articles on planning research, ethical issues, and publishing your results. Also, advice on performing research in specific research areas. references to previous research as well as theoretical discussions and comparison of methods.