It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This is the US Census Bureau's online tool for finding national census and survey information. It draws data from the Decennial Census, American Community Survey, Population Estimates Program, Economic Census, and Annual Economic Surveys.
Provides national, annual data on the characteristics of new privately-owned residential structures, such as square footage, number of bedrooms and bathrooms, type of wall material, and sales prices. Many characteristics are available at the region level. The data are from the Survey of Construction (SOC)
Includes energy usage data from various surveys broken down by market: residential, commercial, manufacturing, vehicle, etc. Each market has further categories analyzing type and strength of usage. Data is updated regularly as surveys are completed.
Survey by the Census Bureau provides national and regional data on the number of new housing units authorized by building permits; authorized, but not started; started; under construction; and completed. The data are for new, privately-owned housing units, excluding "HUD-code" manufactured (mobile) homes.
Survey provides provides national and regional data on the number of new single-family houses sold and for sale. It also provides national data on median and average prices, the number of houses sold and for sale by stage of construction, and other statistics. The data are from the Survey of Construction (SOC),
Library Subscription Statistical Sources
These resources are often useful places to consult in your search for statistics. Use the tabs above to help isolate the type of data you're seeking.
Statista is an easy-to-search database of frequently sought statistics and studies gathered by government sources, scientific publications, market researchers, non-profits, trade organizations, etc. Individual statistics are usually displayed as a graph and charts can be downloaded in PNG, PowerPoint, Excel or PDF formats or embedded in web pages. Search results also display dossiers (topical collections of statistics), infographics, country, industry, and some company reports
Data-Planet allows users to retrieve statistics & data, and create tables, charts, & maps from a variety of sources. Holdings for the United States are significant, with some data available at state, county, or local geographies, including daily, weekly, monthly, quarterly, and annual time series varying by metric.
Subject categories include: Banking, Finance, and Insurance; Criminal Justice and Law; Education; Energy Resources and Demand; Food and Agriculture; Government and Politics; Health and Vital Statistics; Housing and Construction; Industry and Commerce; International; Labor and Employment; Natural Resources and Environment; Population and Income; Prices and Cost of Living; Stocks and Commodities; Transportation and Travel. Java must be enabled to use this database.
The national data book online. Frequently the best place to start if you don't know what data exist on a topic. The authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Find statistical indicators and use as a guide to sources of more information both in print and online.
IHS contains a vast array of statistical data for the countries of the world from 1750-2010.Data series include population, economic, infrastructure, media, education, etc. Frequency and coverage of data vary by series and country. View or download in PDF or MS Excel formats.
ICPSR is the world's largest archive of social science data sets; includes data for criminal justice, demography, economics, education, foreign policy, gerontology, history, law, political science, public health, and sociology. Also hosts extensive learning modules on statistical analysis for use in courses. Register for a (free, required) MyData account using your St. Thomas email address (and independent password) to download data sets. If you have any problems accessing the data, contact our campus representative for ICPSR, John Heintz (email@example.com).
To create a MyData account:
Hit the Log In button at upper right, then follow the New User>Create Account instructions. When prompted, we encourage you to select the option to allow your campus Official Representative (OR) to view your name and email address--this can help us assist you with troubleshooting and in analyzing our usage.
Email Account Validation:
Typically, ICPSR will automatically recognize your institution and validate your account. If you're trying to download data and receive an unexpected alert that you're not from a member institution, even though you are, your account may need to be validated. We can update this manually.
To request a validation, send an email to firstname.lastname@example.org. Include your name, your institutional email address, and the name of your institution.
Use SimplyAnalytics (formerly SimplyMap) to create thematic maps, datasets, and reports using thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables for the U.S. Use it when you need demographic and marketing data for a specific geographic area in the U.S. such as a city, county, census tract, or ZIP code. Create a free personal account with your UST email to save your work (check your email spam if you don't receive an activation email) or sign in as a guest. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.