The following are streaming video databases with films from a variety of countries in a variety of languages. Since many of these databases contain films from all over the world, you may need to either search in French or use the language limiters on the results page to find video content in French.
The Films on Demand World Cinema Collection includes more than 350 movies from directors across the globe. Includes the silent era, American and European films from the mid-20th century, and award-winning contemporary films featured by Global Lens. The collection is subdivided by regions: German Cinema, French Cinema, Italian Cinema, Latin American Cinema, Chinese-language Cinema, Turkish and Middle Eastern Cinema, and more.
Academic Video Online is a collection of streaming videos covering the areas of art, architecture, business, counseling and therapy, dance, economics, education, ethnic studies, ethnography, gay and lesbian studies, health, history, humanities, law and public safety, literature, opera, philosophy, political science, psychology, religion, science, theater, and women's studies.
Multi-disciplinary database of streaming videos from Infobase. Provides academic videos in the subject areas of psychology, history, literature, languages, engineering, business, art, sociology, sciences, world cinema, and more.
Access to more than 10,000 titles in all subject areas. Kanopy titles not available immediately can be requested by faculty for class use or by students for research only. If you find a Kanopy video that you can't access, click the link and follow the instructions to place a request.
More than 2000 videos from different distributors, including Bullfrog, Women Make Movies, Icarus Films, Good Docs, Film Movement, and more. Contains documentaries in a wide range of subjects including, Environmental Studies, Political Science, Peace & Justice, Criminal Justice, Immigration, International Studies, Race and Racism, Ethnic Studies, History, Art, Media Studies, and more.
The Music and Media Collections located on the 3rd Floor (Room 309) of the O'Shaughnessy-Frey Library houses more than 50 thousand titles in streaming audio, streaming video, music CDs, DVD, and VHS.
Music & Media Collections Hours
Head of Access Services & Media Librarian
Amanda Breu
Music & Media Circulation:
libmedia@stthomas.edu
