Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials Plus
Our primary theology and religion index, with 50 plus titles in full-text out of over 400 total indexed, primarily academic journal articles, books, reviews, and essays in collection; international scope. Scriptures search: find articles about passages by citation; browse by Book title, carefully look for applicable verse ranges.
JSTOR - Search 74 theological periodicals.
JSTOR provides access to BACK FILES of digitized versions of complete runs of key scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and the social sciences. The Arts & Sciences collections represent the building blocks of an interdisciplinary scholarly journal archive
Making Sense in Religious Studies by
Specifically designed for students in religious studies, this book offers up-to-date, detailed information on writing essays and short assignments, doing comparative research, evaluating Internet sources, proper documentation, avoiding plagiarism, reading religious texts, learning foreignlanguages, and more.
The Routledge Handbook of Research Methods in the Study of Religion by
This is the first comprehensive survey in English of research methods in the field of religious studies. It is designed to enable non-specialists and students at upper undergraduate and graduate levels to understand the variety of research methods used in the field. The aim is to create awareness of the relevant methods currently available and to stimulate an active interest in exploring unfamiliar methods, encouraging their use in research and enabling students and scholars to evaluate academic work with reference to methodological issues. A distinguished team of contributors cover a broad spectrum of topics, from research ethics, hermeneutics and interviewing, to Internet research and video-analysis. Each chapter covers practical issues and challenges, the theoretical basis of the respective method, and the way it has been used in religious studies, illustrated by case studies.
The Craft of Theology by
Avery Dulles's theological career has spanned one of the most creative and confusing periods in the history of the church. With the goal of integrating new information from philosophy and the sciences into a deeper understanding of the world and society, the many theological schools pursued independent agendas, with the net effect of a loss of coherence. It is Fr. Dulles's contention that theological schools have drifted so far apart that what seems false and dangerous to one school seems almost self-evident to another. Theologians lack a common language, common goals, and common norms. Exploring the possibilities for greater consensus, The Craft of Theology illustrates how a "post-critical" theology can draw on the riches of Scripture and tradition as it reflects on the faith of the church in new contexts. Fr. Dulles discusses the freedom of theology within the university and sets forth principles for a fresh dialogue with philosophy, the sciences, and other Christian churches.
Writing Theology Well 2nd Edition by
Publication Date: 2015-09-24
A working guide for students conducting theological writing and research on theology and biblical studies courses, this book integrates the disciplines of writing, rhetoric, and theology, to provide a standard text for the teaching and mentoring of writing across the theological curriculum.As a theological rhetoric, it also encourages excellence in theological writing in the public domain by helping to equip students for their wider vocations as writers, preachers, and communicators in a variety of ministerial and professional contexts. This 2nd Edition includes new chapters on 'Writing Theology in a New Language', which explores the linguistic and cultural challenges of writing theology well in a non-native language, and 'Writing and Learning Theology in an Electronic Age', addressed to distance learning students learning to write theology well from online courses, and dealing with the technologies necessary to do so.
Succeeding with Your Master's Dissertation by
""I found this book indispensable and consulted it pretty much on a daily basis throughout the whole process of planning and writing my dissertation. By following the book from beginning to end I was able to hand-in a piece of work that I was both proud of and confident would meet Masters standards." Lee Pimlott, Masters Student, University of Derby, UK" Amazon reviews for the 1st edition: ""The ONE book you need to guide you through writing your master's thesis. It ensures you 'tick all the boxes' necessary for a good result. I especially liked the 'common mistake by students' in each section." "The book provides structure, clarity, time management and advice on content for your dissertation. I am delighted to say I passed my Master's with a distinction and owe a lot to the guidance provided by this book."" This popular book continues to demystify the dissertation writing process. Taking a step-by-step approach to the dissertation life cycle and highlighting examples of good and bad practice and the common mistakes that students often make, the book provides clear guidance on how to gain marks, as well as how to avoid losing them. From your initial research proposal to your final submission, you will find this book an indispensible guide. This new edition offers: Additional advice on mind-mapping, note taking and speed reading techniques, as well as time management and how to make the most of your supervisor More information on research methods A new chapter 'Systematic Reviews' "Succeeding with Your Master's Dissertation" is essential reading for all students tackling dissertations on Master's courses or on short postgraduate courses, the social sciences, business and humanities. The book is also key reading for supervisors and undergraduates considering postgraduate study.
Writing the Winning Thesis or Dissertation by
Call Number: LB2369 .G56 2005 Ireland Library
Here's an experience-based, step-by-step, practical guide to take you through planning, writing, and presenting your dissertation or thesis. Find out how to write an objective, documented, and detailed report of your research, one that reflects well on you as a researcher and can help advance your career. Glatthorn divides the book into five sections, with each section focusing on a specific part of the process. This Second Edition includes two completely new chapters - one on using the technology in doing the research and writing the dissertation and one on using peer collaboration. It also provides specific models and examples for each chapter of the dissertation. He shows you exactly how to: - Find a research topic and lay the proper groundwork - Develop a high-quality proposal and defend it successfully - Do your research, collect your ideas, and write your paper - Defend and (if appropriate) publish your work - Solve work- or committee-related problems that may come up along the way You'll gain a wealth of knowledge from Glatthorn's experience chairing nearly 100 dissertation committees. He shows you how the correct academic style adds credibility to your work. His insights can save you hours of valuable time and help you streamline the preparation of your paper. If you have a thesis or dissertation to write, and you are having a hard time getting started or have questions about the process, this is the book you need. It answers your questions and gives you the information to need to get started and keep going. It can make the difference success and failure for your dissertation between.
Writing Your Dissertation in Fifteen Minutes a Day by
Call Number: LB2369 .B57 1998 Ireland Library
Expert writing advice from the editor of the Boston Globe best-seller, The Writer's Home Companion Dissertation writers need strong, practical advice, as well as someone to assure them that their struggles aren't unique. Joan Bolker, midwife to more than one hundred dissertations and co-founder of the Harvard Writing Center, offers invaluable suggestions for the graduate-student writer. Using positive reinforcement, she begins by reminding thesis writers that being able to devote themselves to a project that truly interests them can be a pleasurable adventure. She encourages them to pay close attention to their writing method in order to discover their individual work strategies that promote productivity; to stop feeling fearful that they may disappoint their advisors or family members; and to tailor their theses to their own writing style and personality needs. Using field-tested strategies she assists the student through the entire thesis-writing process, offering advice on choosing a topic and an advisor, on disciplining one's self to work at least fifteen minutes each day; setting short-term deadlines, on revising and defing the thesis, and on life and publication after the dissertation. Bolker makes writing the dissertation an enjoyable challenge.
Quality Research Papers by
This updated third edition of Quality Research Papers--fast becoming a standard reference textbook for writing research papers in the fields of religion and theology--gives improvements and added material for such things as the expanding field of online research and doing church-related research in a professional manner. Because so many new developments have taken place in the field of research, especially in terms of electronic research, this handy reference explores the ways to do research on the internet, including how to document such research. Quality Research Papers offers great opportunities to students today, especially in distant learning situations, to determine which resources can be used and which should be rejected. For this reason Nancy Vyhmeister brought in Terry Robertson, Seminary Librarian at Andrews University and professor of the seminary master's level research courses. His expertise in library, computers, and the Internet are invaluable to the book. In addition to substantial, current information on electronic resources and online research, this third edition preserves all of the features of the original editions, now presented in a newly revised, more logical order.
Dissertations and Theses
This database provides citations for over 2.7 million dissertations and theses from colleges and universities around the world. Close to half are available in PDF form that researchers can download. All St. Thomas dissertations that have been submitted to the database are available in PDF also. If you should come across a document that does not have a PDF, you may purchase a copy or request it through interlibrary loan (ILLiad).
Quick Ready Reference
Covers both general reference and subject-specific reference titles. Topic Pages give great background overviews on subjects.
Use for quick look ups. Oxford Reference Online contains dictionaries, encyclopedias, and Oxford Companions on a wide variety of topics. Brief entries and information about art, biology, business, classics, computing, environmental science, economics, history, language, law, literature, medicine, physical science, political science, quotations, religion and philosophy, and science.
Full-text encyclopedias and dictionaries.
Wiley Online Library
Wiley Online Library (formerly Blackwell Reference Online) is a vast online library giving instant access to the most authoritative and up-to-date scholarship across the humanities and social sciences.
Online Background Sources: Encyclopedias, etc.
New Catholic Encyclopedia
A standard work on the history of Catholicism and its relation to the world. It includes articles on theology, philosophy, history, literary figures, saints, musicians and much more.
Encyclopedia of Religion
Recently updated version of the classic resource for in-depth background on all topics in religion and religions, strong in East, West, and World religions. Authoritative articles by outstanding scholars.
Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church
The single best one-volume overview of Church history, covering all periods. Great for looking up people, ideas, topics, issues, etc. new or unfamiliar to you.
Updated edition of a classic, the best source for background information on Judaism and Jewish topics
Cambridge Dictionary of Christian Theology
Covers both general reference and subject-specific reference titles. Topic Pages give great background overviews on subjects.