Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Trade Publications & Scholarly Research Journals
Trade publications (also referred to as trade journals or the trade press) are written specifically for participants in the industry. They feature articles, ads, special reports, and more on industries, companies, executives, consumers, and business trends. They are a good source of current industry news, and may offer industry and market statistics that you cannot find elsewhere. Check the source of data in reports to see if you can access more information.
Scholarly journals provide scholarly research on topics related to specific professions. They are generally published through a peer-reviewed or juried process, which means that one or more scholars in the field have read and approved the article for publication.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Includes articles from trade publications and scholarly journals as well as company profiles, investment research reports, industry reports, market research, country reports, and SWOT analysis.
ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry This link opens in a new window
Contains industry reports and articles from trade and news publications, and is good for researching smaller, niche industries.
Newspapers & Business News
Articles published in leading business magazines, trade journals, and newspapers can be excellent sources of current information on companies. Articles may also be the only way to locate information on small, private companies, or on subsidiaries of publicly-held companies. They often provide added depth and insight into an industry’s structure, strategy and competition. News articles related to an industry can supplement the overviews or data found in online sources. If you were not able to find an industry report, news articles can collectively provide an overview of the industry.
ProQuest US Newsstream, including Star Tribune This link opens in a new window
US Newsstream enables users to search current U.S. news content, as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980s. It features top newspapers, wires, broadcast transcripts, along with national and regional news sources including The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Star Tribune, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, and Chicago Tribune.
Access World News This link opens in a new window
Contains thousands of national and international newspapers and other news sources, including campus news, broadcast news transcripts and business news. Excellent source for smaller news outlets.
Business Journals (including Minneapolis/St. Paul Business Journal) This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text articles from the Minneapolis/St. Paul Business Journal which provides in-depth news about Minnesota companies, the local business environment, and the Annual Book of Lists. It also contains additional business journals from other cities that covers regional news from across the United States. Users must sign up for a free account using their UST email with a separate password. Available only to current UST students, faculty, and staff. Works best with Chrome.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
News articles from publications around the world including the Wall Street Journal, the New York Times, and the Financial Times. It also contains many smaller market news sources, trade magazines, and journals. Limited to 6 simultaneous users.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
St. Paul Pioneer Press This link opens in a new window
Archive of the St. Paul Pioneer Press from 1988 to present.