Research and Course Guides: Aging Resources: Finding Books

Search for Books and eBooks

LibrarySearch provides a simple, one-stop search for books, articles, videos, recordings, and more. Items from St. Thomas and other regional libraries can be requested online and delivered to the St. Thomas library of your choice. My account

Print Research Resources on Aging

The encyclopedia of aging : a comprehensive resource in gerontology and geriatrics by George L. Maddox, editor-in-chief
Call Number: OSF Reference HQ1061 .E53 2001
This two-volume encyclopedia provides a good overview of the topics that are involved in the field of geriatric research. Articles are signed and include cross-references. There is a large section which provides references to many resources on aging as well as a basic subject index.
Encyclopedia of Aging by Richard Schulz Linda Noelker; Kenneth Rockwood; Richard Sprott;
ISBN: 0826148433
Publication Date: 2006

These resources are available on the shelves of the UST Libraries Reference Collections.

The encyclopedia of elder care : the comprehensive resource on geriatric and social care by Mathy D. Mezey, editor-in-chief ; Barbara J. Berkman ... [et al.], associate editors ; Melissa M. Bottrell, managing editor.
ISBN: 082610259X
Each article in this resources is signed, and provides other terms which would expand upon the topic. It also includes terms that could be used when searching on the Internet. There is a bibliography of print and Web resources included, and a subject index to search for specific terms. Available online
Encyclopedia of sociology by Edgar F. Borgatta, editor-in-chief, Rhonda Montgomery, managing editor.
Call Number: OSF Ref HM425 .E5 2000
This is one of the major basic, in-depth encyclopedias covering the field of sociology. Each of the articles in this 5-volume set ar signed and include a list of reference on each topic.
Encyclopedia of women and gender : sex similarities and differences and the impact of society on gender by editor-in-chief, Judith Worell.
Call Number: OSF Reference HQ1115 .E52 2001
Covering topics of interest to studies on gender differences, this two-volume encyclopedia has lengthy articles written by experts in the field. Each article includes a detailed list of "Suggested Readings" and includes a glossary to the terms used within it. There are author and subject indexes included.

Other Resources for Aging Research

Some of these resources are available in the Keffer Reference collection. Other resources are available in the O'Shaughnessy-Frey Library or Law Library stacks.

The American Bar Association legal guide for Americans over 50.
Call Number: Law Library stacks KF390.A4 A54 2006
Handbook of adult development by edited by Jack Demick and Carrie Andreoletti
Call Number: Keffer Reference BF724.5 .H36 2003

Electronic Research Resources on Aging

Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology
The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology is the reference for students, researchers, librarians, and academics in the field. Articles are written by an international array of experts in the area. It includes over 1800 entries including key concepts, introductions to sociological theories and research, and extensive bibliographies for each article. It is regularly updated.
Encyclopedia of Social Work
This encyclopedia defines and analyzes the major topics in the field of social work. The current edition is available online. Earlier editions are located on the OSF Reference shelves under the call number REF HV 35 .S6
Blackwell companion to the sociology of families

Statistical Sources

Statistical abstract of the United States by prepared by the chief of the Bureau of Statistics, Treasury Department.
Call Number: Behind OSF Reference Desk HA202
This annual resource is the first place to go when trying to locate statistical information. It is available online as well as in print in the UST Libraries. It provides tables with statistics in many different areas, and provides the information on which organization provided the data so that you can locate more in-depth statistics. The index refers you to the table number rather than the page number.
Aging : demographics, health, and health services by Elizabeth Vierck and Kris Hodges.
Call Number: OSF Reference RA564.8 .V54 2003
Older Americans : a changing market
ISBN: 1461911230
Publication Date: 2014
Available both online and in print, this resource provides statistical charts and tables on a particular age group. Topics covered include Education, Health, and Living Arrangements. it also includes a section which provides Web sites and phone numbers for contacts, agencies and government organizations which can be contacted for further information. A glossary, a bibliography of other resources, and a subject index are included.
The baby boom : Americans born 1946 to 1964 by by Cheryl Russell
Call Number: OSF Reference HN60 .R84 2009
ISBN: 1937737063
This resource provides statistical charts and tables on a particular age group. Topics covered include Education, Health, and Living Arrangements. it also includes a section which provides Web sites and phone numbers for contacts, agencies and government organizations which can be contacted for further information. A glossary, a bibliography of other resources, and a subject index are included.