Research and Course Guides: Multicultural Research Guide for Teachers: Countries & Cultures

Hello! to Everyone

Sources for Country Information

Here are some sources for locating general information about other countries. Generally, they will have facts and data about the government, economy, education system, culture, geography, etc. The first group are online sources. The second includes reference sources located in one or more St. Thomas library.

World Factbook
Produced by the CIA, each country's profile includes such information as demographics, political, economic, and geographic data.
Country Studies from the Library of Congress
The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.
State Department--Bilateral Relations Reports
The State Department has replaced their "Background Reports" with these "Bilateral Relations" reports. This page has links for many countries. The amount of information may vary greatly, and there are other helpful links at the bottom of many reports.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations
Choose a volume (world regions) in the box on the upper right. Then select the country from the table of contents on the next screen.

Printed Sources

In addition to these reference titles, you can search CLICnet for titles beginning with the phrase "culture and customs of", and you will retrieve a significant list of books about individual countries.

International Education: An Encyclopedia of Contemporary Issues and Systems
Call Number: E-book, username and password required
Publication Date: 2012
You will need your UST username and password to gain access to this title. This encyclopedia provides thorough, up-to-date coverage of key topics, concepts, and issues, as well as in-depth studies of approximately 150 national educational systems throughout the world. Articles examine education broadly and at all levels--from primary grades through higher education, formal to informal education, country studies to global organizations.
It includes a special section for countries that were once part of the Soviet Union.
International Encyclopedia of Education
Call Number: E-book, username and password required
Publication Date: 2010
E-book. Broad topic areas covered include: adult education, curriculum development, early childhood education, assessment and evaluation, higher education, primary and secondary education, teacher education, technology and learning among others. It also include profiles of educational systems in selected countries (not all, unfortunately).
World Education Encyclopedia
Call Number: Keffer Ref LB15 .W87 2001
Three volumes--this encyclopedia focuses on information about education systems in other countries.

Contact me for assistance

Conrad Woxland

he/him/his

Contact:

conrad.woxland@stthomas.edu
Charles J. Keffer Library | MOH 206F

651-962-4662

Subjects: Education, Psychology