Research and Course Guides: Educational Technology: A Research Guide: Reference Sources

Learning In New Ways

Curriculum Standards

The following documents are the essential curriculum standards from the International Society for Technology in Education.

Reference Resources

Handbooks, encyclopedias, and other reference sources are a good place to look for a topic overview, a definition, or a quick fact on a topic. Sometimes the bibliography from an article in an encylopeida or handbook can identify some of the seminal authors on a topic.

Most of the following print sources are located in Keffer Library. Click on the title for the call number and availability, or ask for assistance at the Keffer Reference desk. A couple are e-books; click on the link provided here, then look for another link to access the resource.

Technology in Schools
Call Number: Keffer stacks LB 1028.3 T3972 2012
Topics found in this book include the digital divide, electronic textbooks, impacts on curricula, privacy on school computers, web censorship, and more. Each chapter opens with an introductory essay, followed by point/counterpoint articles written and signed by invited experts on the topic.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Educational Technology
Call Number: E-book, username and password required
Publication Date: 2015
This encyclopedia examines information on leveraging the power of technology to support teaching and learning. It is highly recommended for education students and faculty in all subject areas.
Encyclopedia of Information Technology Curriculum Integration
Call Number: Keffer Ref LB1028.3 .E63 2008
Emergent Computer Literacy: A Developmental Perspective
Call Number: Keffer QA76.9.C64 R63 2009
This book reports on a study of 6-year olds and their interactions with computers under the guidance of their parents.
Enhancing Learning Through Human Computer Interaction
Call Number: Keffer QA76.9.H85 E535 2007
This resource provides an analysis of training programs and e-learning in the higher education sector. Case studies describe practical approaches for increasing the human dimension of human computer interaction (HCI).
Educational Media and Technology Yearbook
Call Number: Keffer Ref LB1028.3 .E37
Annual publication, good for an overview of current issues in technology.
E-Learning Handbook; Past Promises, Present Challenges
Call Number: E-book, username and password required
Publication Date: 2008
This collection of essays examines the economic, technological, instructional design, and philosophical issues (among others) that underlie e-learning. Only one user allowed at a time.
Handbook of Research on Practices and Outcomes in E-Learning: Issues and Trends
Publication Date: 2010
This book provides a comprehensive view of the historical, conceptual, theoretical, and practical perspectives of conventional e-learning and innovative e-learning 2.0.
Gaming for Classroom-Based Learning
Call Number: E-book, username and password required
E-book. This book provides research to inform classroom and pre-service teachers of the potential of games for improving teaching and learning.
Interactive Media Use and Youth
Call Number: E-book, username and password required for access
Publication Date: 2011
E-book. This book provides a comprehensive collection of knowledge based on different perspectives on quantitative and descriptive studies, what goes on in the contemporary media landscape, and pedagogical research on formal and non-formal learning strategies. A recent source for information on how youth use interactive and social media.

Contact me for assistance

Conrad Woxland

he/him/his

Contact:

conrad.woxland@stthomas.edu
Charles J. Keffer Library | MOH 206F

651-962-4662

Subjects: Education, Psychology