Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
Statistical Abstract of the United States
This annual resource is the first place to go when trying to locate statistical information. It is available online as well as in print in the UST Libraries. It provides tables with statistics in many different areas, and provides the information on which organization provided the data so that you can locate more in-depth statistics. See the record listed below for information on the print and a link to older editions of this resource.
Getting Started Finding Statistics
Statistical abstract of the United States by
Call Number: OSF Reference HA202
This link provides access to older editions of the Statistical Abstract. The UST Libraries also has the most current and earlier editions in print under the call number listed.
Data on the Net
This Web site, available from the University of California at San Diego, acts as a search system to provide access to archival social science statistical data.
This Web site is a subject guide to other Web sites published by individual U.S. government agencies. The actual statstics to whic it links are separate Web sites updated by the specific agencies. it brings together the many statistics provided by these separate agencies.
Other Statistical Web sites
Use SimplyAnalytics (formerly SimplyMap) to create thematic maps, datasets, and reports using thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables for the U.S. Use it when you need demographic and marketing data for a specific geographic area in the U.S. such as a city, county, census tract, or ZIP code. Create a free personal account with your UST email to save your work (check your email spam if you don't receive an activation email) or sign in as a guest. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
Polling and Public Opinion Resources
Other Demographic Statistical Resources
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research
ICPSR houses the world's largest archive of social science data sets; coverage includes data for criminal justice, demography, economics, education, foreign policy, gerontology, history, law, political science, public health, and sociology. Also includes extensive learning modules on statistical analysis for faculty use in courses. Register for a (free) account using your UST email address to download data sets. UST's membership provides 50% discounts on their summer statistics course catalog.
Government Statistical Resources
Center for Disease Control and Prevention. Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Reports
This site provides access to the weekly reports published by the Center for Disease Control and Prevention.
Center for Disease Control and Prevention. National Center for Health Statistics.
This Web site provides statistics on many different areas of interest to those studying families, including virths, deaths, marriages, and divorces.
U.S. Department of Education. National Center for Education Statistics
This site is the basic site for Education Statistics. It includes the Encyclopedia of Education Statistics as well as Youth Indicators, and demographic information on children and families, published by the U.S. Department of Education.
United States Bureau of Labor Statistics
This site provides many different statistics covering "Inflation and consumer spending", "Wages, earnings and benefits", "Occupations", "Demographics", "Industry", "Business costs", etc. from the Bureau of Labor Statistics.
U.S. Census Bureau
This Web site provides information about the Bureau of the Census, and about access tools, as well as social demographic and economic information. Also includes a statistical site called "American Factfinder".
Tax Statistics information and forms from the IRS.
Print Statistical Resources
American attitudes : what Americans think about the issues that shape their lives by
Call Number: OSF Reference HN90.P8 M58 2008
The authors brought together data from surveys of the University of Chicago's National Opnion Research Center. Viewpoints on many different topics are identified and statistics are explained and made available in charts. A brief subject index is available, but the table of contents and the list of tables at the front are more helpful at finding what statistics are available.
These resources can be found in the OSF Reference collection.