Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Click the GET IT buttons within any of our databases to get the full text of the article (if available). We don't own every e-journal, but those that we do own will be available through the GET IT button. Those that aren't available can be requested through ILLiad.
Watch this video for more info.
With very few exceptions, UST Libraries resources are available from off-campus. You will be asked to enter your UST username/password. This is the username you use for your UST email, not your Banner ID.
The links below will take you to a user guide provided by the vendor of each database.
Try these databases
Online databases are an important tool for locating journal articles related to your topic. The first four focus on education and will have research as well as more practical articles on topics related to special education. Dissertations and Theses now has full text, and may have original research on your topic. Google Scholar is here as a supplementary tool for citation tracking mostly. The last two (PsycInfo and Medline) provide research on the psychological or psychiatric side of specific conditions.
Some of the articles you find will be available in fulltext online. Use the "Get It" button to link to the article. Others may be available only in print in a library. You may need to visit the library and retrieve and copy the article; or you may be able to borrow the article through interlibrary loan (ILLiad).
ERIC This link opens in a new window
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) provides full-text research on a wide range of education topics. Includes peer-reviewed journals, books, research syntheses, conference papers, technical reports, and much more.
Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers a wide range of education topics from early childhood to higher ed as well as educational specialties like adult education, multilingual education, and more. Includes peer-reviewed journal articles, conference papers, books, and more.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Designed for professional educators, coverage includes a range of educational topics and research levels. Access full text, peer-reviewed journals, and high-quality education trade journals.
Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window
This database provides citations for over 2.7 million dissertations and theses from colleges and universities around the world. Close to half are available in PDF form that researchers can download. All St. Thomas dissertations that have been submitted to the database are available in PDF also. If you should come across a document that does not have a PDF, you may purchase a copy or request it through interlibrary loan (ILLiad).
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Start here when you need to find research in psychology. Which areas of psychology? Just about all of them. PsycINFO covers mental health, counseling, cognitive science, neuroscience, education, learning, family studies and language. Provides full-text access (back to the first issue) of the journals published by the American Psychological Association, as well as other association journals and many books and book chapters.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search across multiple disciplines and source types from one convenient place. Connect to Google Scholar through the library’s page to get free full text of articles brought to you by UST.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
MedLine, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 11 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. Includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
Test Reviews Online
Try these databases if you need a review of an assessment instrument. If you are unfamiliar with the usage of psychological tests, the FAQ at the top with provide some background information.
Mental Measurements Yearbook & Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
Mental Measurements Yearbook describes and critically analyzes of more than 2000 commercially available standardized English-language tests: educational, personality, aptitude, neuropsychological, achievement, and intelligence. Evaluates tests for validity, reliability, and ease of testing. No full-text tests are included. Tests in Print (TIP) is a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests currently in print in the English language. Limited to 4 simultaneous users.
ETS Test Collection
This resource provides an index to unpublished tests for educators and psychologists, as well as a service to provide the tests. In order to search this collection, use TestLInk
, the search system for this resources.
Contact me for assistance
Important Special Education Journals
Here are some sample peer reviewed research journals in Special Education:
- Focus on Autism and Developmental Disabilities
- Journal of Autism and Developmental Disabilitites
- Education and Training in Autism and Developmental Disabilities
- Exceptional Children
- Teaching Exceptional Children
- Behavioral Disorders
- Learning Disability Quarterly
- Learning Disabilities Research and Practice
- Research and Practice for Persons with Severe Disabilities
- Journal of Positive Behavior Interventions
- American Journal on Intellectual and Developmnental Disabilities
Use the journal title search below, or on the library homepage, to determine the online availability of these and other journals as you do your research.
I Found This Citation...
....so how can I get a copy of the article? We get that question a lot. We have a link on the library homepage to search just journal titles--it is linked below. Click on it and type in the title of the journal you are looking for (NOT the article title), and (if UST has access to the journal--in any format) you will get a list of where we have it. Sometimes it may be online, OR in print at a library, OR perhaps it may be in microform in a library. Try it out.