Research and Course Guides: English as a Second Language: A Research Guide for Teachers: Reference Sources

Looking for ESL classes?

NOTE: If you have found this page from Google, or another internet search engine, and are looking for classes from the ELS Center at St. Thomas, please call 651-962-5990, or visit the website below. (Please don't call or email me--I am not connected to this program and cannot assist people with it.)

ELS Language Center

ESL is Worldwide!

Reference Sources

Here is a selection of reference titles that are available at St. Thomas. However, they are not all in the same library. Click on the title to see the call number and location.

They are helpful for providing an overview of a topic, and will help you identify important writers on your topic.

Some titles are e-books. You may need to set up an account with the vendor to view them if you are off campus. This will be a different account from your UST username/password.

Oxford Bibliography: Bilingual Education and Bilingualism
This article presents a selection of the key literature on bilingualism and bilingual education. International in scope, it is a good starting point for background resources on bilingual education.

The Cambridge Handbook of Second Language Acquisition
Call Number: E-book, username and password required
Publication Date: 2013
This comprehensive handbook is an authoritative survey of second language acquisition (SLA). It covers cutting-edge and emerging areas of inquiry not treated elsewhere, including third language acquisition, electronic communication, incomplete first language acquisition, alphabetic literacy and SLA, affect and the brain, discourse and identity, among others.
The Study of Second Language Acquisition
Call Number: Keffer stacks P118.2 .E394 2008
Handbook of Research in Second Language Teaching and Learning
Call Number: E-book, username and password required
Publication Date: 2005
Handbook of Research on Teaching the English Language Arts
Call Number: Keffer Ref LB1576 .H234 2010
Seven themes in this resource: 1) the language learner, 2) contexts for language learning, 3) history and theoretical perspectives, 4) many faces of texts, 5) teaching the English language arts, 6) assessment of English language arts teaching and learning, 7) methods of research on teaching the English language arts. Also available in e-book form.
Developing Literacy in Second Language Learners
Call Number: Keffer LC3731 .N338 2006
Developing Reading and Writing in Second Language Learners
Call Number: Keffer LC3731 .N338 2008
Encyclopedia of Bilingual Education
Call Number: Keffer Ref LC3707 .E523 2008
Handbook of Research on Multicultural Education
Call Number: Keffer Ref LC1099.3 .H35 2004
Sampling of topics: multiracial families, immigrants and refugees, social class and education, and a large variety of articles on aspects of teaching and learning as it applies to specific ethnic groups (Latino, African American, Asian, etc.)
Handbook of Research on Literacy and Diversity
Call Number: Keffer stacks LB1576 .H2337 2009
The chapters in this book are divided into four themes: 1) perspectives about learning among diverse students; special issues concerning literacy; 3) strategies for teaching; and 4) preparing teachers to teach literacy to diverse students.
The Handbook of Bilingualism and Multilingualism
Call Number: E-book, username and password required
Publication Date: 2012
The Handbook of Bilingualism
Call Number: E-book, username and password required
Publication Date: 2006
This book provides state-of-the-art information on the central issues that arise in relation to bilingualism, ranging from the representation of the two languages in the bilingual individual's brain to the various forms of bilingual education, including the status of bilingualism around the world.
A Dictionary of Linguistics and Phonetics
Publication Date: 2009
David Crystal′s A Dictionary of Linguistics and Phonetics has long been the standard single-volume reference for its field. Now available in its sixth edition, it has been revised and updated to reflect the latest terms in the field.
International Encyclopedia of Linguistics
Call Number: OSF Ref P29 .I58 2003
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Linguistics, 3rd ed.
Call Number: E-book, username and password required
Publication Date: 2014
This authoritative dictionary provides coverage across the field of linguistics, both the theoretical and the practical. In over 3,250 entries it clearly defines terms relating to phonetics, grammar, semantics, languages (spoken and written), dialects, and sociolinguistics.
Key Ideas in Linguistics and the Philosophy of Language
Call Number: E-book, username and password required
Publication Date: 2009
Introductory entries on 80 ideas that have shaped the study of language up to the present day
Handbook of Educational Linguistics
Call Number: E-book, username and password required
Publication Date: 2008
Methods of Research on Teaching the English Language Arts...
Call Number: E-book, username and password required
Publication Date: 2005
Teaching English Language Learners Across the Content Areas
Call Number: E-book, username and password required
Publication Date: 2010
Language Counts by School District (MN data)
Call Number: Keffer Ref LC201.65.M6 L36
Need to know the number of students who speak a particular language in a school district? This is the source. Keffer Reference has a number of years in print. Since 2010, they only have published a map summary by county. Only the most recent report is available at the MDE website ("Home Primary Languages").

Contact me for assistance

Conrad Woxland

he/him/his

Contact:

conrad.woxland@stthomas.edu
Charles J. Keffer Library | MOH 206F

651-962-4662

Subjects: Education, Psychology