Research and Course Guides: Minnesota Education: A Research Guide: Reference, Statistics, Directories, etc.

Picturing Minnesota

Teacher Certification

For information about educator licensing in Minnesota, click on the link below. If you are looking for information about certification in another state, check their Department of Education website, or consult one of the reference books below. They are located at Keffer Library.

Teacher Certification Requirement for All Fifty States
Requirements for Certification of Teachers, Counselors, Librarians, Administrators for Elementary and Secondary Schools

Minnesota Office of Educator Licensing

Statistics and Research Documents

Some of these are pure statistics, others analyze and interpret statistical information.

Minnesota Department of Education--Data Center
This is the main repository for data available from the Minnesota Department of Education. Broad general statistics for the state are under "Schools, Districts and Teachers at a Glance". Information in map form is under 'Maps', and statistics for Adequate Yearly Progress, Child Count, financial reports, NCLB, staffing, students and other topics is under 'Data Reports and Analytics'
Minnesota Report Card
Start by clicking the menu icon in the upper left corner. Choose a broad topic. At first the results will default to a statewide summary. Click on the magnifying glass at the right of the header to choose a more specific report on that topic.
Minnesota Kids Count 2015 Report
A primary source for data about the economic security, health, and welfare of children in Minnesota. Individual county reports are also available, as is the capability of generating a customized report.
Minnesota Demographic Center
more...less...
Use the search box, or browse the A-Z list for such topics as Immigration, Education, and specific ethnic groups.
College Board--Report on Minnesota College Bound Seniors
more...less...
Includes information on SAT scores, demographics and college plans.
Minnesota School Finance--A Guide for Legislators
more...less...
A regular report from the House Research Department of the Minnesota Legislature, this provides background on the structure of financing education in the state.
Financing Education in Minnesota
more...less...
Similar to the previous item, this has even more details.
Minnesota Measures [year]--Higher Education Performance
more...less...
A regular report from the Office of Higher Education, this contains information on college enrollments, retention, graduation rates, student engagement, workforce development, affordability, and more.
MN 2020 Education Issues Page
more...less...
MN 2020 is a think tank that focuses on issues affecting the future of Minnesota. This page includes links to education topics that they have produced reports on.
Minnesota Student Survey
more...less...
This study is conducted every three years by the Center for Health Statistics in the Minnesota Department of Health. The survey asks questions about activities, experiences, and behaviors. Topics include tobacco, drug, alcohol use, school activities, safety, school climate and other topics. Data is available by grade and ethnic background.
Civil Rights Data Collection (USDOE)
more...less...
Need data about discrimination in Minnesota schools? This is a good place to start. You can search by school districts and retrieve data for various ethnic groups related to suspensions, expulsions, referrals to law enforcement, among other topics.

Comparing Minnesota to Other States

If you are looking for information that compares some aspect of education in Minnesota with other states, try these resources.

Print:

Minnesota in Perspective (Keffer Reference)
Almanac of American Education (Keffer Reference)
National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP). Printed copies of reports are in Keffer Reference for Mathematics, Science, Reading, Writing, U.S. History, and Geography. See Nation's Report Card below for online versions.

Online:

Nation's Report Card (online NAEP reports)
more...less...
Follow links on the left side for subject areas or types of users.
Digest of Education Statistics
more...less...
Unfortunately there is no 'search' function here, best to browse the table of contents. Selected tables have data by state.
NEA--Estimates and Rankings Report
more...less...
Ranks the states in areas such an enrollments, staffing, budgets, and provides trends in these areas for the last decade.
State Education Reforms
more...less...
From the National Center for Education Statistics, this site compiles data on elementary and secondary reform efforts in these areas: accountability, assessment and standards, staff qualifications and development, state support for school choice, and student readiness and progress through school.
State Teacher Policy Yearbook
more...less...
From the National Council on Teacher Policy, this site reviews state laws, rules, and regulations related to the teaching profession. You can download the 2015 report, or create a report for a specific state on a number of topics.
Leaders and Laggards: A State by State Report on K-12 Educational Effectiveness
more...less...
From the U.S. Chamber of Commerce Center for Education and Workforce, this report evaluates the effectiveness of states in preparing workers needed in the future.
Public School Finance Data
more...less...
From the US Census Bureau, education finance data include revenues, expenditures, debt, and assets (cash and security holdings) of elementary and secondary public school systems. Statistics cover school systems in all states, and include the District of Columbia. Data are available in viewable tables and downloadable files.
School Health Profiles

Directories

Check CLICnet for exact shelf location.

MDR's Minnesota School Directory (Keffer Reference)
Catholic Schools in America (Keffer Reference)

Online sources:

Minnesota Department of Education--Directories
more...less...
This includes a directory of schools and districts, charter and private schools, and a brief directory of educational associations.
Minnesota Department of Education Staff Directory
more...less...
Originally included in the above link, this staff directory is now separate.
The college blue book
Information about colleges and universities in the United States: admissions, enrollment, course offerings, and demographics.
Other State Departments of Education
more...less...
Directory provided by the US Department of Education.

Contact me for assistance

Conrad Woxland

he/him/his

Contact:

conrad.woxland@stthomas.edu
Charles J. Keffer Library | MOH 206F

651-962-4662

Subjects: Education, Psychology