Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Country information on the web
The World Factbook (CIA)
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.
HeinOnline Law Journal Library
Look for "World Constitutions Illustrated" in the list of available content in HeinOnline; includes books, articles and the constitutions themselves for the countries of the world.
Statistical information on the web
NationMaster provides a central data source and a handy way to graphically compare nations by a large number of statistical measures. NationMaster is a compilation of data from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD.
United Nations Statistics
Global statistical information
World Bank data portal
A new site searchable by country, topic, or indicator.
The best specific databases to find articles on international topics.
OECD Economics iLibrary
There are resources that you will only be able to read online - we don't subscribe to them, but the OECD is making them available for reading.
Political scientists, journalists & economics researchers are going to find original information on health care, criminal justice, political and social trends, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy. Each report includes an overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials Plus
For international information with a theological perspective
Find Facts and Basics: Encyclopedias and Handbooks
Facts on File World News Digest
World News Digest brings together and enhances nearly seven decades of news from the renowned Facts On File World News Digest in print. This archival record of domestic and international news is updated weekly and contains more than 1 million internal hyperlinks and convenient new features such as tabbed search results. It covers all major political, social, and economic events since November 1940. This publication of record is unrivaled for its depth, breadth, and accuracy.
Published by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress.
Political Handbook of the World
Country profiles chronicling national history, government, and political parties, as well as profiles on intergovernmental organizations, development banks, and the agencies and specialized bodies of the United Nations.
Oxford Companion to the Politics of the World
Explores themes of international politics including articles on the people, concepts, and events that have shaped the world since 1993.
Guide to Countries of the World
Authoritative work on world politics of interest to political scientists and journalists
International year book and statesmen's who's who
Directory and biography of statesmen from across the globe. Includes international organizations and states of the world. Of interest to political scientists and journalists.
International Studies Encyclopedia
Foreign policy analyses from all over the world in a trusted unbiased source. Includes international ethics, ecuation, law to peace studies. Political science students should find this very helpful.
Access World News
This database contains electronic editions of thousands of local, national and international newspapers, along with broadcast transcripts and college and university news. It also includes the St. Paul Pioneer Press and the Star Tribune.
International issues web sites
World Public Opinion
Consortium of public opinion research centers in 25 countries on global issues
Council on Foreign Relations
The Council on Foreign Relations is an independent, nonpartisan membership organization, think tank, and publisher dedicated to being a resource for its members, government officials, business executives, journalists, educators and students, civic and religious leaders, and other interested citizens in order to help them better understand the world and the foreign policy choices facing the United States and other countries. Find information by region, country and issue.
Foreign Policy in Focus
From the Institute for Policy Studies, FPIF provides analysis of U.S. foreign policy and international affairs with a commitment to peace, justice and environmental protection as well as human, economic and social rights. Find information by region, country and issue.
International Crisis Group
ICG is an independent, non-profit, non-governmental organization committed to conflict resolution world wide. Good information by country and issue.
UN perspective on peace and security, development, human rights, humanitarian affairs and international law
American Society of International Law (ASIL)
An electronic resource guide is designed to be used by students, teachers, practitioners and researchers as a self-guided tour of relevant, quality, up-to-date online resources covering important areas of international law.
Intended for journalists, political science and those interested in the military it provides background information and developing news stories in the fields of defense, space, intelligence, WMD, and homeland security.