Research and Course Guides: Political Science Generally: Getting Started

Finding Articles

General sources that will help you get started with your research:

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
A good place to start your research, Academic Search Ultimate provides full text for scholarly publications and peer-reviewed journals as well as general interest sources.
Expanded content and coverage replacing Academic Search Premier.
New York Times (Historical) This link opens in a new window
This database provides you access to the complete content of The New York Times newspaper (1851 - 2008) including all articles, editorials, advertisements and photographs.

Chronicling America
Historic American Newspapers. 1836 - 1922. Searchable by state or across the whole database. Journalism and political science students can see contemporaneous decision making reported in the press.
more...less...
A digitization project from the Library of Congress.
Online Historical Newspapers
An index to national newspapers some of which are local digitization projects that you'd find it difficult to find. Organized by country then state with indication of costs or not.

ProQuest US Newsstream, including Star Tribune This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
US Newsstream enables users to search current U.S. news content, as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980s. It features top newspapers, wires, broadcast transcripts, along with national and regional news sources including The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Star Tribune, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, and Chicago Tribune.
Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
Issues & Controversies explore more than 800 timely, in-depth, and objective articles on topics such as politics, government, business, education, and popular culture. It is updated weekly and provides links to a 13-year backfile. Also included are links to news coverage, pros and cons statements, timelines, statistics, etc.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX with Full Text identifies resources in the field of sociology and related subject areas. It indexes over 3000 journals and provides full text for 890 journals, several dating back to 1908. It also includes full text for over 850 books and monographs, as well as over 16,800 conference reports. It also includes a thesaurus of sociological terms.

Search for Books and eBooks

LibrarySearch provides a simple, one-stop search for books, articles, videos, recordings, and more. Items from St. Thomas and other regional libraries can be requested online and delivered to the St. Thomas library of your choice. My account

Finding Facts: Library encyclopedias and handbooks

Oxford Companion to the Politics of the World
The Oxford Companion to Politics of the World contains articles on the people, concepts, and events that have shaped the world since 1993.
A companion to contemporary political philosophy
Essays on major political ideologies.
Encyclopedia of Political Science
Trusted source; for political scientists looking for introductory information on political theories over time and across nations.

Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Articles, journals, and books published by Wiley across a variety of disciplines.

Subject Guide

Andrea Koeppe

she / her / hers

Email Me

Contact:

Charles J. Keffer Library | MOH 223

651-962-4647

Subjects: Business, Entrepreneurship, Ethics & Business Law, Management, Political Science

Politics on the Web

Library of Congress: THOMAS
Best source for information on Congress and federal legislation. Find the text and status of bills, the full text of the Congressional Record, committee reports, and more.
Politifact
PolitiFact is a project of the St. Petersburg Times to help you find the truth in American politics. Reporters and editors from the Times fact-check statements by members of Congress, the White House, lobbyists and interest groups and rate them on our Truth-O-Meter.

Political Science Generally: Getting Started

Introduction to This Guide

Finding Articles

Search for Books and eBooks

Finding Facts: Library encyclopedias and handbooks

Subject Guide

Politics on the Web