Research and Course Guides: BIOL 356: Microbiology: Key Resources

Best Bets

PubMed This link opens in a new window
The National Library of Medicine's openly searchable and highly comprehensive database of biomedical literature, providing citations from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: over 21,500 scientific journals, 130,000 books and conference proceedings, covering all fields of academic study: science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Scopus also includes 8 different citation metrics, analyzing impact at the author, article, journal, and institution levels.
Scopus user guide

Ulrichsweb This link opens in a new window
Ulrichsweb is a bibliographic database providing detailed, comprehensive, and authoritative information on serials published throughout the world. It covers all subjects, and includes publications that are published regularly or irregularly and are circulated free of charge or by paid subscription.

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Elsevier published journals and books online platform
BioOne This link opens in a new window
BioOne provides full-text access to both current and archival "bioscience research journals, featuring timely content on a wide-array of today’s most pressing topics, including global warming, stem cell research, ecological and biodiversity conservation."
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
The primary database for nursing and allied health research with access to journal articles, book chapters, evidence-based care sheets, nursing dissertations, state newsletters, and continuing education modules.
How to use CINAHL
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Full text for thousands of peer-reviewed journals and general interest sources across many subject areas.
American Society for Microbiology Journals This link opens in a new window
A collection of 14 full-text journals published by the American Society for Microbiology, delivering up-to-date and authoritative coverage of both basic and clinical microbiology.