Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Searching for Articles in Legal Publications
Index to Legal Periodicals and Books
Index to Legal Periodicals and Books is a bibliographic database consisting of citations from legal periodicals (law reviews, bar association journals, university publications, yearbooks, institutes and government publications) and law books that cover all areas of jurisprudence, including recent court decisions, new legislation, and original scholarship. 1982-Present
Provides indexing for more than 1,200 major law reviews, legal newspapers, specialty publications, Bar Association journals, and international legal journals, including more than 200 titles in full text.
HeinOnline Law Journal Library
HeinOnline is a collection of resources ranging from law review articles to a wide range of foreign and domestic legal documents. Highlights include the Law Journals Library (American law review articles from the inception of the journal), Federal Register Library (vol. 1, 1936 - current), U.S. Supreme Court Library, full-text Restatements, treaty collections, and legislative history documents.
Articles from Other Disciplines
African American Studies Center Online (Oxford)
The African American Studies Center contains brief articles on all aspects of the African-American experience along with images, primary sources, time lines, maps, tables, and reference resources.
The core content includes:
Federal Surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984
Black Americans of all political persuasions were subject to federal scrutiny, harassment, and prosecution. The FBI enlisted black "confidential special informants" to infiltrate a variety of organizations. Hundreds of documents in this collection were originated by such operatives. The value of this collection is that it is a vast treasure of largely untapped source materials for the major social movements and key figures in early twentieth century black history. Second, it provides a window into the development of America’s first systematic domestic surveillance apparatus and known and suspected abuses thereof.
Ethnic News Watch
Comprehensive collection of newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press. All articles are full-text.
Updated quarterly. 1990-present.
Full-text of complete journal runs (excluding the most recent 2-5 years) of many journals in a variety of 20 academic disciplines, including law, public policy, sociology, history, and more.
Michigan Journal of Community Service Learning
Publishes articles on research, theory, pedagogy in academic service-learning, campus-community partnerships in higher education, and engaged scholarship. 1994 - present.
Civil Rights Digital Library
The CRDL features a collection of unedited news film from the WSB (Atlanta) and WALB (Albany, Ga.) television archives held by the Walter J. Brown Media Archives and Peabody Awards Collection at the University of Georgia Libraries.
Civil Rights History Project
The Civil Rights History Project Act was created by an act of Congress in 2009, sponsored in the U.S. House of Representatives by Representative Carolyn McCarthy (NY) and co-sponsored by Representatives Sanford D. Bishop (GA), William Lacy Clay (MO), John Lewis (GA) and Mike Quigley (IL). The law directs the Library of Congress (LOC) and the Smithsonian Institution's National Museum of African American History and Culture (NMAAHC) to conduct a survey of existing oral history collections with relevance to the Civil Rights Movement (CRM), and to record new interviews with people who participated in the Movement. There are 1533 collections are available in the database.
U.S. Commission on Civil Rights (Archive)
Established as an independent, bipartisan, fact-finding federal agency, the USCCR mission is to inform the development of national civil rights policy and enhance enforcement of federal civil rights laws. We pursue this mission by studying alleged deprivations of voting rights and alleged discrimination based on race, color, religion, sex, age, disability, or national origin, or in the administration of justice.
Harvard Civil Rights-Civil Liberties Law Review (Online)
Founded in 1966 as an instrument to advance personal freedoms and human dignities, CR-CL seeks to catalyze progressive thought and dialogue through publishing innovative legal scholarship and from various perspectives and in diverse fields of study.