Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Translating Your Question into Database Language
Subject: Database's vocabulary (different for each database)
Keyword: Your vocabulary
LImiters: Special to each database ("Age Group" below)
Databases use a grammar of AND, OR, AND NOT -- a language of mathematics. No prepositions, verbs, determiners, affixes -- anything you learned in English or human language classes.
Social Work Databases
Start your research by searching for your topic in these databases:
Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Produced by the National Association of Social Workers, Inc., it contains records from journals on topics such as homelessness, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation, and community organization. Updated every six months. 1977- . Limited to 8 simultaneous users.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Look here for articles on macro Social Work practice. SocINDEX with Full Text identifies resources in the field of sociology and related subject areas. It also includes a thesaurus of sociological terms.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Start here when you need to find research in micro Social Work practice or psychotherapy.
PsychiatryOnline (Including the DSM) This link opens in a new window
The entire DSM is online for our students, faculty, and staff. Including all editions, supplements, and revisions of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual, from the DSM to the DSM-5-TR. Includes comparisons to the ICD. Cool textbooks including the Casebook and the Handbook of Differential Diagnosis Also includes Practice Guidelines, 6 journals, and fun assessment tools for self-study.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles on all aspects of medicine and health care, published all over the world. Look for articles on equity and justice in health care. After you find an especially appropriate article, click on Related Records to find other articles of interest.
Sage Research Methods Foundations
Sage Research Methods Foundations This link opens in a new window
This database is the perfect companion for novice researchers. It provides bite-size, introductory overviews to all the major methods topics written by a renowned roster of methods experts, to help get you on your way. These accessible entries can help you get to the heart of the concept before you dig deeper into books or journal articles.