Research and Course Guides: SOCI 100 -- Health: Statistical Sources

Statistical Abstract of the United States

Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
This annual resource is the first place to go when trying to locate statistical information. It is available online as well as in print in the UST Libraries. It provides tables with statistics in many different areas, and provides the information on which organization provided the data so that you can locate more in-depth statistics. See the record listed below for information on the print and a link to older editions of this resource.

Statistical abstract of the United States by prepared by the chief of the Bureau of Statistics, Treasury Department.
Call Number: OSF Reference HA202
This link provides access to older editions of the Statistical Abstract. The UST Libraries also has the most current and earlier editions in print under the call number listed.
Data on the Net
This Web site, available from the University of California at San Diego, acts as a search system to provide access to archival social science statistical data.
FedStats
This Web site is a subject guide to other Web sites published by individual U.S. government agencies. The actual statstics to whic it links are separate Web sites updated by the specific agencies. it brings together the many statistics provided by these separate agencies.
A dictionary of statistics by Graham Upton and Ian Cook.
ISBN: 0199679185
Publication Date: 2014
This online resource is an Oxford University Press publication.

Population and Demographic Studies--WWW Virtual Library
This Web site provides access to international demographic information.
Historical, Demographic, Economic and Social Data: the United States, 1790-1970
This site is made available by the ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research). It provides access to census data for the dates covered.
Kids Count Data Center
Developed and updated by the Annie E. Casey Foundation, this online resource provides statstical information for the nation as well as by individual states.
Population Reference Bureau
This site provides population demographics provided by the Population Reference Bureau and the Social Science Data Analysis Network. Although only national data is provided, this interactive source provides current information under specific topics such as "Marriage and Family".
United National Population Information Network: A guide to population information on UN system Web sites.
World population statistic information, called POPIN, are collected and maintained by the Population Division of the UN Secretariat and made available through this site.

Center for Disease Control and Prevention. Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Reports
This site provides access to the weekly reports published by the Center for Disease Control and Prevention.
Center for Disease Control and Prevention. National Center for Health Statistics.
This Web site provides statistics on many different areas of interest to those studying families, including virths, deaths, marriages, and divorces.
U.S. Department of Education. National Center for Education Statistics
This site is the basic site for Education Statistics. It includes the Encyclopedia of Education Statistics as well as Youth Indicators, and demographic information on children and families, published by the U.S. Department of Education.
United States Bureau of Labor Statistics
This site provides many different statistics covering "Inflation and consumer spending", "Wages, earnings and benefits", "Occupations", "Demographics", "Industry", "Business costs", etc. from the Bureau of Labor Statistics.
U.S. Census Bureau
This Web site provides information about the Bureau of the Census, and about access tools, as well as social demographic and economic information. Also includes a statistical site called "American Factfinder".