Background Information - SOCI 480 - Seminar in Criminal Justice - Research and Course Guides at University of St. Thomas

CLICsearch

LibrarySearch is the library catalog of six private colleges and universities in the Twin Cities, including Saint Thomas. Books from other campuses can be requested online and delivered to the St. Thomas library of your choice.. You can search for resources at both UST and SCU Libraries.

Sage Research Methods Online (SRMO)

Sage Research Methods Foundations This link opens in a new window
This database is the perfect companion for novice researchers. It provides bite-size, introductory overviews to all the major methods topics written by a renowned roster of methods experts, to help get you on your way. These accessible entries can help you get to the heart of the concept before you dig deeper into books or journal articles.

PsycBooks

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Start here when you need to find research in psychology. Which areas of psychology? Just about all of them. PsycINFO covers mental health, counseling, cognitive science, neuroscience, education, learning, family studies and language. Provides full-text access (back to the first issue) of the journals published by the American Psychological Association, as well as other association journals and many books and book chapters.

Social Work Examination Guides

UST O'Shaughnessy-Frey Library has several editions of Social Work examination guides available on Reserve (ask at the Circulation Desk):

Social Work ASWB Exam Guides, by Dawn Apgar and published by Springer, are available for in-library use only

Masters Exam, 2015. Call number: HV 40.52 .A74 2015
Clinical Exam, 2015. Call number: HV 40.52 .A736 2015

The Complete Guide to Social Work (Masters Exam), 2015, published by Independent Study, Inc., is one volume available for in-library use only. Call number: HV 11.5 .C64 2015

ASWB Secrets Study Guides, published by Mometrix Test Preparation, are available for in-library use only:

Bachelor's Exam, 2015. HV 40.52 .A89 2015
Masters Exam, 2010. HV 40.52 .A88 2010
Clinical Exam, 2010. HV 40.52 .A861 2010

The Preparatory Course for the Social Work Written Examination, published by the Association for Advanced Training in the Behavioral Sciences (2010) can be checked out for 3 days. Call number: HV 11.5 .P74 2010

Orientation volume which identifies which sections of the guides are covered by individual tests
Volume 1: Human development and Behavior
Volume 2: Clinical Social work processes and procedures
Volume 3: Supervision in Social Work
CDs: 3 disks include optional material

These ASWB Study Guides are 2004 editions are located in the O'Shaughnessy-Frey Library stacks and can be checked out. Call number: HV 11.5 .S88

Bachelors Examination
Masters Examination
Advanced Generalist Examination
Clinical Examination

Handbooks and Encyclopedias Online

Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Articles, journals, and books published by Wiley across a variety of disciplines.
Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Handbooks features review essays, written by leading experts, that evaluate the current thinking on a field or topic, and make an original argument about the future direction of the debate. UST currently subscribes to 7 subject collections.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Provides useful and intelligent synthesis of the primary research literature for scientific disciplines, including biomedical, life, physical, and social sciences.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Full-text encyclopedias and dictionaries.

SOCI 480 - Seminar in Criminal Justice: Background Information

CLICsearch

Sage Research Methods Online (SRMO)

PsycBooks

Social Work Examination Guides

Handbooks and Encyclopedias Online

LibrarySearch - Audio search