Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Translating Your Question into Database Language
Subject: Database's vocabulary (different for each database)
Keyword: Your vocabulary
LImiters: Special to each database ("Age Group" below)
Databases use a grammar of AND, OR, AND NOT -- a language of mathematics. No prepositions, verbs, determiners, affixes -- anything you learned in English or human language classes.
Social Work Databases
Start your research by searching for your topic in these databases:
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX with Full Text identifies resources in the field of sociology and related subject areas. It indexes over 3000 journals and provides full text for 890 journals, several dating back to 1908. It also includes full text for over 850 books and monographs, as well as over 16,800 conference reports. It also includes a thesaurus of sociological terms.
Criminal Justice Abstracts Full-text This link opens in a new window
Criminal Justice Abstracts provides comprehensive coverage of international journals, books, reports, dissertations and unpublished papers on criminology and related disciplines. This version provides full-text for approximately 200 criminal justice journals.
Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new window
Westlaw Campus has a broad selection of federal and state statutes, regulations, and case law. It is designed for the academic market and is not the full Westlaw database available to law schools. It also provides the full text of international, U.S., state, and local newspapers, magazines and wire services as well as company and industry financial data, SEC filings and news from business publications.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Start here when you need to find research in psychology. Which areas of psychology? Just about all of them. PsycINFO covers mental health, counseling, cognitive science, neuroscience, education, learning, family studies and language. Provides full-text access (back to the first issue) of the journals published by the American Psychological Association, as well as other association journals and many books and book chapters.
PTSDpubs This link opens in a new window
PILOTS is a bibliographic database produced at the headquarters of the National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder in White River Junction, Vermont, and is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Its goal is to include citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations, while offering both current and retrospective coverage.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus calls itself the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: over 21,500 scientific journals, 130,000 books and conference proceedings, covering all fields of academic study: science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Scopus also includes 8 different citation metrics, analyzing impact at the author, article, journal, and institution levels.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles on all aspects of medicine, published all over the world.
Look here for issues of lethality in domestic violence.
- domestic violence
- spouse abuse
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Communication and Mass Media Complete is an essential research tool in areas related to communications and mass media. It is also useful for literacy or ESL research in the field of education.
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
LGBT Life with Full Text indexes the world’s literature regarding Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender issues, both academic and grassroots. It includes full text for LGBT journals, magazines and regional newsletters as well as some monographs and books. It’s invaluable as both an academic resource and for casual reading and great for learning about the history of the LGBT community.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) provides full-text research on a wide range of education topics. Includes peer-reviewed journals, books, research syntheses, conference papers, technical reports, and much more.
Sage Research Methods Online
Sage Research Methods Online (SRMO)
LibrarySearch - Audio search