Research and Course Guides: MUSC 216 Jazz in America: Getting Started

About OSF

O'Shaughnessy-Frey Library
651-962-5494 (Library Services Desk)
651-962-5400 (Hours)
2115 Summit Ave, St. Paul, MN 55105
Directions & Parking
Library Hours

Ask Us for Help

Questions?

Please contact us at libmedia@stthomas.edu. We will respond within 5 business days.

Encyclopedias & Dictonaries

Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Includes 4 music reference resources: "Grove Music"--full texts of New Grove Music, New Grove Opera, and New Grove Jazz; "Oxford Companion to Music" and "Oxford Dictionary of Music"--concise articles on musicians, individual works, instruments, notation, forms, & genres; and "Encyclopedia of Popular Music"--covers all genres and periods of popular music from 1900 to the present including jazz, country, folk, rap, reggae, techno, musicals, and world music. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.

Cambridge history of American music
The History begins with a survey of the music of Native Americans and then explores the social, historical, and cultural events of musical life in the period until 1900. Other contributors examine the growth and influence of popular music, including film and stage music, jazz, rock, and immigrant, folk, and regional music.
African American Studies Center
Comprehensive collection of scholarship focused on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture.

Gale in Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
Includes over 700,000 biographical entries covering more than 400,000 notable international figures from all time periods and areas of study.

Books

Africa Speaks, America Answers: Modern Jazz in Revolutionary Times by Robin D. G. Kelley
Call Number: ML3508 .K44 2012
Black Women and Music by Eileen M. Hayes (Editor); Linda F. Williams (Editor); Ingrid Monson (Foreword by)
Call Number: ML82 .A37 2007