Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide provides information and links to resources for jazz music available at UST Libraries. Use the tabs to help find books,articles, videos, and how to cite sources. Contact the Head of the Music and Media Collections if you have questions or need research assistance.
2115 Summit Ave, St. Paul, MN 55105
Directions & Parking
Encyclopedias & Dictonaries
Oxford Music Online
Includes 4 music reference resources: "Grove Music"--full texts of New Grove Music, New Grove Opera, and New Grove Jazz; "Oxford Companion to Music" and "Oxford Dictionary of Music"--concise articles on musicians, individual works, instruments, notation, forms, & genres; and "Encyclopedia of Popular Music"--covers all genres and periods of popular music from 1900 to the present including jazz, country, folk, rap, reggae, techno, musicals, and world music. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
Cambridge history of American music
The History begins with a survey of the music of Native Americans and then explores the social, historical, and cultural events of musical life in the period until 1900. Other contributors examine the growth and influence of popular music, including film and stage music, jazz, rock, and immigrant, folk, and regional music.
African American Studies Center
Comprehensive collection of scholarship focused on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture.
Gale in Context: Biography
Biography in Context includes over 700,000 biographical entries covering more than 400,000 notable international figures from all time periods and areas of study.
Media and Music Librarian
Music & Media Collections
The Media/Music Collections house more than 100 thousand titles in streaming audio, streaming video, music CDs, DVD, and VHS. The music scores, music books and music journals are located in the 3rd floor of the OSF Library stacks.
Head of the Music & Media Collections
2115 Summit Avenue
Room 104 OSF Library
St. Paul, MN 55105