Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Translating Your Question into Database Language
Subject: Database's vocabulary (different for each database)
Keyword: Your vocabulary
LImiters: Special to each database ("Age Group" below)
Databases use a grammar of AND, OR, AND NOT -- a language of mathematics. No prepositions, verbs, determiners, affixes -- anything you learned in English or human language classes.
These databases are the ones you should use to start your search for research articles.
Start here when you need to find research in psychology. Which areas of psychology? Just about all of them. PsycINFO covers mental health, counseling, cognitive science, neuroscience, education, learning, family studies and language. Provides full-text access (back to the first issue) of the journals published by the American Psychological Association, as well as other association journals and many books and book chapters.
SocINDEX with Full Text
SocINDEX with Full Text identifies resources in the field of sociology and related subject areas. It indexes over 3000 journals and provides full text for 890 journals, several dating back to 1908. It also includes full text for over 850 books and monographs, as well as over 16,800 conference reports. It also includes a thesaurus of sociological terms.
The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database provides information about 1.3 million items related to education, including journal articles, books, conference papers, statistical or research reports and other items. It is THE essential tool for research in education.
Education Full Text
Education Full Text indexes over 770 education journals, as well as some monographs and yearbooks. Over 400 of the journals are peer-reviewed and almost half are available in full text. It also includes several peer-reviewed open access journals. The indexing starts in 1983, and the full text starts in 1996. Approximately 75-100 of the titles are not indexed in ERIC and it is a complementary resource to use with ERIC.
PsychiatryOnline (Including the DSM)
Finally, the DSM online! Including all editions, supplements and revisions of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual, from the DSM to the DSM5. Includes comparisons to the ICD. Cool textbooks include the Casebook and the Handbook of Differential Diagnosis Also includes Practice Guidelines, 6 journals, and fun assessment tools for self-study.
Indexes articles on all aspects of medicine, published all over the world. Use for human biology, anatomy, and physiology, psychiatry, pharmacology, and health care management, administration, and policy. The MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) search is extremely helpful in finding terms. After you find an especially appropriate article, click on Related Records to find other articles of interest.
CLICsearch - Audio search
Search Journal Titles
Find journals and newspapers subscribed to by St. Thomas. Enter all or the beginning of the title (e.g., New York Times or Harvard).