Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

International Students' Library Resource Guide: Use Google Scholar Effectively for Research

International Students' Library Resource Guide

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

Off campus? Set Google Scholar to link to Get it! at UWM:

From the Google Scholar home page, click on the "Settings" gear on the top of the page.

  1. Select “Library Links” from the left column
  2. Search for “University of Wisconsin Milwaukee” and check the "UWM" box that appears
  3. Save!

When you find a good article, click on the "Get IT! (UWM Libraries)" link - not the title 

To show links to import into RefWorks:

From the Google Scholar home page, click on the "Settings" gear on the top of the page.

  1. Select "Search Results" from the left column
  2. Select "Show links to import citations into" radio button and select RefWorks
  3. Save!

When you find a good article, save the citation by selecting "Import Into RefWorks"

Use Google Scholar Effectively for Research

 

Google Scholar finds academic materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts, and technical reports from broad areas of research. It searches a variety of undisclosed academic publishers, professional societies, and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.

 

Advantages of Google Book Search

Many articles are available full-text.

Google Scholar can connect you to library resources.

The sources are more academic than those you would find through a standard search engine query, though you should still always evaluate the content you find.

It covers a wide range of academic content areas and is continually being updated.

It ranks and lists results according to how relevant they are to the search query. The most relevant references should theoretically appear at the top of the page.

You can access articles the library has on campus or off campus by logging in your student ID.

 

Cited By

Clicking the Cited by link on Google Scholar will display a list of articles and documents that have cited the document originally retrieved in the search. This makes it possible to find other documents related by topic to the original document. However, Google Scholar only includes articles that are indexed within its database, and this is a much smaller subset of scholarly articles than those found in other UWM databases.

 

Interpreting Your Findings

Search results have a variety of formats. PDF and PostScript documents will have clickable title links that point to abstracts or full-text, but citations and books will not. Citations are items that have been extracted from the references, footnotes, or bibliographies of documents indexed by Google Scholar. They typically do not have clickable links, but the citation usually gives you enough information to track down the item. Clicking on “Web Search” will start a search for the citation using the standard Google search engine. This can help you determine the title of the book or journal the article was published in if it is abbreviated in the citation.

 

Advanced Search Tips

Use Google Scholar's Advanced Search to search by author, publication, and date.

 

Setting Library Links

From the Google Scholar Preferences page, search for UW Milwaukee and check UWM Libraries (Get Text from UW-Milwaukee) box. You will only need to do this the first time you search Google Scholar.

 

Off Campus? Not a Problem

You can still access all of the databases from the UWM Libraries and set Google Scholar preferences through a VPN.