Research and Course Guides: Emerging Technologies in Business: Business and Technology News

Business+Technology

Fast Company
Provides information which empowers innovators to challenge convention and create the future of business
Harvard Business Review
Presents analysis of management problems and helpful commentary on advanced thinking and practice in all fields of management and administration.
Coverage: 1922-present (EBSCO MegaFILE).

more... less...

Users can search using keywords or browse by year (look for the list of years on the right).
Harvard Business Review Digital Articles
Provides the text of HBR web-only articles. "Big Idea" articles are not included.
Coverage: 2007-present ( EBSCO MegaFILE).

more... less...

Use the link provided to search within the web articles provided or browse by date on the right side of the page.
MIT Sloan Management Review
Explores how leadership and management are transforming in a disruptive world.
MIT Technology Review
Examines the human & social dimensions of science and technology. Topics on energy & environment, computers & biotech.
TechCrunch
Provides a front-row seat to the future of innovation. It’s where founders, operators, investors, and everyone else who is tech-curious learn what’s next, discover unexpected stories, and glean critical intelligence.
Wired
Covers the people involved with the digital revolution and related changes in computer and communications technologies and life-styles.

Financial and Industry News

Bloomberg Business Week
1996-present in the Ebsco Business Source Premier database.

more... less...

Use the link provided to search within the publication or browse by date on the right side of the page. Both the O’Shaughnessy-Frey and Keffer Libraries also have the weekly print editions.

Economist, The
University-wide subscription to the digital edition of the esteemed British newsweekly. Includes current and prior coverage back to 1997; see the separate Economist Historical Archive for coverage back to 1843.

Web login via Single Sign On
Enter your stthomas.edu email address on the institutional login page (do not click the blue Log in button). You will automatically be redirected to the St. Thomas Single Sign-On login page if you don't already have an active session.
Mobile App login
Our subscription includes access to Economist podcasts and other digital content available via the Economist mobile apps . To log in, go to Menu > Settings > Log in, and enter your St. Thomas email address when prompted. Note: There is no need to enter a password on the login page--instead, you should automatically be redirected to UST Single Sign-On.
Financial Times (digital)
FT.com is the digital version of The Financial Times, a leading global news source offering in-depth analysis of global markets, economics, and diverse topics like politics, technology, climate change, and much more.
Use your stthomas.edu email address to set up your account for personalized access to content on the FT.com website and mobile apps (ft.com/mobile).
Once registered, sign in to FT.com directly. Use myFT to curate topics that you're interested in, set up email alerts, subscribe to newsletters, and save articles to refer back to later.
Other features include:
- The ePaper, a digital replica of the printed newspaper optimized for offline access
- Portfolio Tool for tracking performance of your holdings and viewing relevant news stories
- FT video and podcasts
The St. Thomas Libraries also offer the Financial Times Historical Archive beginning with the first issue in 1888.
New York Times (digital)
Direct access to nytimes.com paid for by St. Thomas.

First-time users: Create a free account using your St. Thomas email address. Existing paid New York Times subscribers must cancel their subscription before authenticating via the school-funded program.
Includes access to The New York Times in Education (separate registration required), TimesMachine, The Athletic (separate registration required), NYT podcasts, mobile apps, and more. Does not include Cooking, Wirecutter, or Games.
Once registered, students will have access until 12/31 of their graduation year. Faculty/staff will have 4 years of full account access, after which they must re-authenticate by visiting accessnyt.com.
Wall Street Journal (digital)
Direct access to wsj.com paid for by St. Thomas.

First-time users: Create a free account using your St. Thomas email address.
Access includes news, commentary, podcasts, WSJ+, use of the mobile app, and more.
Students will be prompted to enter their graduation date upon activation. Faculty and staff will receive an email to renew their academic pass every 364 days.